top of page

Something Like That by Lori Worley


Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to Goodreads

Contemporary, Romance

If you break apart and break down, does that mean you're broken? Less than a year ago Charlotte ended her relationship in an explosion of emotions and violence. These days she is still sifting through the wreckage to find all the pieces she lost in the fight. She just wants to remember who she wanted to be before she lost who she was. Dylan was the product of a toxic love story that left him disenchanted with love but not with life. The son of two parents that let love and its disappointments destroy who they were. He wasn't afraid of love but he didn't pursue it either. She was quirk and chaos. He was cleverness and curiosity. She was skeptical and blunt. He was passionate and unashamed. But would they make sense together?

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Charlotte is surrefing from a breakdown of a relationship that ended in violence. The relationship with Eli was toxic for them both, at its worst, and it exploded. 9 months later, Charlotte is on the mend, but still suffering. Dylan is a breath of fresh air to Charlotte, but equally damaged by a different toxic love, that of his parents. I loved this, I really did! Charoltte's breakdown is hinted at, for quite some time before we get the full story and I loved being made to left hanging. Being made to read more, because, for crikes sake, WTF did that just mean?? You know?? That sort of left hanging! The relationship between Dylan and Charlotte was a bit two steps forward, one step back but it was a pleasure to watch it grow and develop. I Loved both Chalotte and Dylan's sense of humour, it came across so well, and I wonder if there is a touch of the auhtor's humour in there. I do understand that this IS Charlotte's story, and is told entirely from her POV, but I would still liked to heard from Dylan, especially at key points along the way. AND this is the ONLY reason it gets 4.5 and not 5 stars. Single person POV, in the first person. The breakdown is described in all its graphic details, but is extremely well written. It was emotionally and physically painful to read, but it was needed, I think, to fully get into Charlotte's head and heart. And I loved, absolutely LOVED that the title didnt make much sense til the very last line. loved. Thank you to Ms Worley for my copy, I thoroughly enjoyed it. 4.5 stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

I currently reside in Southern California with my two awesome daughters,the hubs, and my dog Everly.I have been writing since I was almost old enough to spell. I am a psych major and an avid book junkie. My greatest loves are the ocean, Hemingway, Green Day, Thai food, and concerts. I detest excessive heat and the band Journey. I have recently published my first contemporary romance, Something Like That and another fairytale inspired stand alone novel,The Mermaid's Lament, my debut novel.

0 views
bottom of page