top of page

The Last Thing He Needs (The Last Thing He Needs #1) by J.H. Knight


Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to Goodreads

Adult, M_M, Contemporary, Romance

Tommy O’Shea is raising his seven younger brothers and sisters without any help from his drug abusing father and stepmother. Since he was fifteen years old, he's managed to keep the children fed and out of foster care. It takes up every ounce of his energy and the last thing he needs is romance complicating his life further. Rookie cop Bobby McAlister doesn't belong in Tommy’s harsh world, but Tommy can’t push him out. As their unlikely friendship turns into a tentative relationship, they weather the daily storm of Tommy’s life with a lot of laughs and more than a few arguments. Tommy isn't used to trusting outsiders, and he's never asked for help in his life. But when a tragedy strikes the O'Shea family and threatens everything he's fought for, he'll have to learn to do both to recover from the brutal hit.

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Tommy is bringing up his seven, yes seven, brothers and sisters, trying to keep them fed, clothed and in school. His parents (and I use the term very loosely here!) come and go as they please, with no care for the kids. Enter Bobby, a police officer who turns up at Tommy's house, just passing by, alot! Tommy doesn't need help, and he won't ask. I often read other reviews, before reading a book, not always but usually. Most of the reviews I read mentioned what a shit life Tommy has, and how much angst was in the book. And yes, Tommy leaps from one diaster to the next, from one problem to another, living life with his siblings for one day to the next. And yes, its difficult reading, trying to imagine that sort of life. But I Don't Care. Tommy's life made the book. Tommy's hardship made the book. Tommy's reluctance to ask for help made this book. Its written in single person POV. Just Tommy has his say. Regular followers of my reviews will know I don't much care for books written this way, but here?? I Dont Care. I LOVED it here! Yes, I would like to have heard from Bobby, but I'm just a nosey parker. Tommy had enough to say, and say it he darn well did. I had this on my wish list for a while, and I wish I had bought it sooner, I really do. I will certainly look forward to reading other books by this author, as they are new to me. 5 stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

J.H. Knight has been writing love stories since the second grade. When she’s not catering to the whims of her imaginary friends (whom she sometimes refers to as “characters”), she’s usually found driving her four children all over the planet, working on a school project, or saying things like “Not until your homework is done!” A Pacific Northwest native, she loves the outdoors in every season whether she’s in the city, in the mountains, or building sloppy sandcastles with her kids on the beach. On her best days, she’s cuddled up with a good book, and on her worst days she’s tearing her hair out as she tries to decide if her sentence needs a comma or a semi-colon. She gratefully bows down in awe of editors, since she usually gets it wrong.

0 views
bottom of page