top of page

Animal by Nikki Rae


Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to Goodreads

New Adult, Dark, Paranormal

Ava has spent her life running from the monsters that lurk in the shadows, always the prey. She finally thinks she can settle down, have a normal life, and work on not being so scared of the world around her. That is until she runs into her worst fear. He has finally found the potential family he has always wanted. All he has to do is make his little bird sing. Will Ava escape with her humanity intact?

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

You know, when you are reading?? Do you like to plot ahead?? See where a book might go and whether you are right?? I do, and sometimes I'm right and sometimes, I'm wrong. I don't mind either way, I like a book that keeps me on my toes. This one?? This book kept me guessing right to the very end! I said to my partner midway through, " I can see this going one of three ways, oh maybe 4 ways" and then??? A fifth way happens! I did not see that one coming, and I loved it! Its told differently, we get Ava in the first person, and everyone else, and I mean EVERYONE we get in the third. I see this is popping up more often, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't and here it absolutely does. We get Michael and Evan, Myles and Toni, in the third. Ava, we get her now, and we get chapters, only short some of them, a paragraph or two of her past. It took me a while, but those little snippets of her past lead nicely into the next chapter of here and now. Or I thought they did, anyway. In a round about way. I was kept guessing about why Michael was doing what he was doing. Kept guessing about the true connection between Myles, Evan and Michael. Kept guessing who Katya was. Kept guessing, guessing guessing! Sometimes, I struggle to word how I feel about a book, usually, because it affected me so. This is one of those times. Its dark, not a fluffy vampire romance, there are some twists to the usual vampire lore and the way makers control their creations. There is little or no sex, but it does get violent, especially when Michael is angry, and dishing out his punishment. The ending, as I said, was unforeseen. It also makes me think there may be a second book, but equally, one of those books that just finishes, ends, and leaves you hanging. Totally hanging after this one, I tell ya, hanging! Its long, too. 522 pages. Took me two days, but had I started it in the morning, I may well have read it in one sitting. This is also the first of Nikki Rae I have read. But it certainly won't be the last. I just realised, I didn't summary the book, not gonna. Nope. Can't. The blurb says it perfectly, and I don't want to take away from that. 5 full stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Nikki Rae is the head editor of Metamorphosis Editing Services and a writer who lives in New Jersey. She is an independent author and has appeared numerously on Amazon Best Seller lists. She is the author of The Sunshine Series and concentrates on making her imaginary characters as real as possible. She writes mainly dark, scary, romantic tales, but she'll try anything once. When she is not writing, reading, or thinking, you can find her spending time with animals, drawing in a quiet corner, or studying people. Closely.

4 views
bottom of page