top of page

Sloe Ride (Sinners #4) by Rhys Ford


Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to Goodreads

It isn’t easy being a Morgan. Especially when dead bodies start piling up and there’s not a damned thing you can do about it. Quinn Morgan never quite fit into the family mold. He dreamed of a life with books instead of badges and knowledge instead of law—and a life with Rafe Andrade, his older brothers’ bad boy friend and the man who broke his very young heart. Rafe Andrade returned home to lick his wounds following his ejection from the band he helped form. A recovering drug addict, Rafe spends his time wallowing in guilt, until he finds himself faced with his original addiction, Quinn Morgan—the reason he fled the city in the first place. When Rafe hears the Sinners are looking for a bassist, it’s a chance to redeem himself, but as a crazed murderer draws closer to Quinn, Rafe’s willing to sacrifice everything—including himself—to keep his quixotic Morgan safe and sound.

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Quinn is younger brother to Kane and Connor. He is a professor at a college, and never had any plans to follow in his dad and brother's footsteps to join the boys in blue. Rafe is an honorary Morgan, attaching himself to Connor and Sionn probably saved him. Rafe ALWAYS noticed Quinn, but Connor scared him off and Rafe went on tour. Now, having broken himself and put himself mostly back together, Quinn and Rafe come face to face again, and its like the intervening years never happened. Someone, however, isn't too pleased that Quinn isn't at his feet, and bodies start turning up, putting both Quinn and Rafe in danger.

Alrighty! Book 4 in this series, but you dont need to read the other three, however I would recommend that you do. Because Kane, Connor and Sionn and their *better* halves all play a huge part here, and their stories pop up along the way. **I loved that!**

Quinn and Rafe are made for each other, they really are. Quinn is so different to his brothers and cousin, and it stood out, so much so, I wanted to cry for Quinn, when his past started to creep out, and how he reacted to Rafe going on tour. I loved that Rafe called Quinn babe, baby, magpie, very early on, before they got it together. I didn't get the magpie name though, so I'm glad it got explained in the story. Their love is evident right from the beginning.

I didn't get who dunnit til the book revealed it, and I was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay off base with that one!

I don't usually add text from the book, but I highlighted two lines, one from Miki, when Damien says they need to start writing more love songs

" Because I'm not ready to share Kane with anyone else. With any stranger. He's mine. I've not had enough mine in my life yet. When I do, I'll start writng love fucking songs"

And one from Rafe, when he is trying to explain to Quinn how he feels about him

" All this time, I've been trying to fill this hole inside of me, fucking around, drugs and shit, when what I should have done was just come home - and find you"

I needed to add these. I really did.

Before each chapter, there is a few lines from a song, or a few lines of conversation. I KNOW these were there when I listened, I honestly did, but I NOTICED them here. And I loved them. Ms Ford should publish the songs on their own :-)

This is the first book in this series I have READ. I listened to the other three, and I could hear Tristan James reading the story to me, as I went along, but I couldn't hear him saying the voices right, I know I didn't. So I need to LISTEN to this one as well.

AWESOME addition to this series, keep them coming, please!

5 full stars **same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and my comments here are my honest opinion. *

Rhys Ford is an award-winning author with several long-running LGBT+ mystery, thriller, paranormal, and urban fantasy series and was a 2016 LAMBDA finalist with her novel, Murder and Mayhem. She is published by Dreamspinner Press and DSP Publications. She’s also quite skeptical about bios without a dash of something personal and really, who doesn’t mention their cats, dog and cars in a bio? She shares the house with Yoshi, a grumpy tuxedo cat and Tam, a diabetic black pygmy panther, as well as a ginger cairn terrorist named Gus. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird and enjoys murdering make-believe people.

0 views
bottom of page