top of page

Broken (Broken #1) by Annie Jocoby


Amazon.com Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to Goodreads

Nick O'Hara is a veritable womanizer. The only qualifications that he looks for in a romantic connection is that the person is hot and breathing. Mainly hot. He has no desire for an emotional connection with another person, and that's the way he lives his life. He has his fabulous wealth and his reputation as a premiere architect, and that's enough for him. Until Scotty James. Scotty is a graduate student at Columbia University in New York City. She's broken from traumatic experiences from her years in foster care and homelessness. She has a vulnerability that is intoxicating to Nick, because, deep down, he knows that he is as broken as she. When Nick pursues Scotty, it seems that she is the only woman who doesn't want to be with him. At first she's a challenge, but Nick soon finds himself falling in love for the first time in his life. With a woman who wants nothing to do with him. Can Scotty overcome her trust issues and fear to let Nick in? Or will she prove to be too broken to trust?

3 out of 5 (good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

I'm not gonna write a blurby bit for this one, jumping straight in.

There I was, merrily reading away, quite enjoying it, even if its first person, and flips between Scotty and Nick. It was heading for a 4.5 maybe even a 5 star rating depending on how it panned out.

I got to 45/50% and something happened. Don't ask me what, because I have no idea. It wasn't a plot twist, or something that happened IN the story, rather something happened TO the story, if you see what I mean. I don't know what changed, but at that point I started NOT to enjoy it so much. I hit past 50% so I continued, way I see it, I've read more than is left, so carry on. I hate not being able to pinpoint why something doesn't agree with me, or why I don't like it. So, rather than ramble about it, I'm gonna stop.

BUT, I've given it 3 stars because I WAS enjoying it. A little on the longer side for a part works, hence the trilogy tag, rather than a part work tag.

There are two more books in Nick and Scotty's story. Will I read them?? probably not. I'm sorry, but not one for me.

3 stars

** same worded review will be posted elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

0 views
bottom of page