top of page

Lime Gelatin and Other Monsters (Offbeat Crimes #1) by Angel Martinez


Purchase Link - click HERE

M/M, Paranormal, Romance

Kyle Monroe, his irritating new partner and their fellow freaks at the 77th Precinct must learn to work together to stop a vicious murderer that might not even be human.

Kyle Monroe’s encounter with a strange, gelatinous creature in an alley leaves him scarred and forever changed, revealing odd abilities he wishes he didn’t have and earning him reassignment to a precinct where all the cops have defective paranormal abilities.

Just as he’s starting to adjust to his fellow misfit squad mates, Kyle’s new partner arrives. Tall, physically perfect, reserved and claiming he has no broken psychic talents, Vikash Soren irritates Kyle in every way. But as much as he’d like to hate Vikash, Kyle finds himself oddly drawn to him, their non-abilities meshing in unexpected ways. If they can learn to work together, they might be able to stop the mysterious killer who has been leaving mutilated bodies along the banks of the Schuylkill.

3 out of 5 (good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Each member of the 77th Precinct police force has a 'thing' Kyle's is that he absorbs the thing if those he touches. Can't control though. New partner Vikash's thing isn't immediately obvious. What is obvious, is they have a killer on the banks of the river and that killer needs catching, and soon. Different. And usually different works well with me but not so here. Here's why. I felt that I was missing . . . . . .something. Not entirely sure what that something though and frustrating is not the word. I really can't pinpoint what that is, and that is what's so frustrating! It is well written, but only from Kyle's point of view, which, strangely, I didn't mind here. Oh, of course I wanted to hear from Vikash, but that's just me and its not what I'm missing. All the characters are, in their own way, somewhat quirky and odd and different and I did like that. Loved Mr Jacket. I need more of him! Just because this one didn't quite click with me, doesn't mean I don't want to read more of these people and their Precinct. It may be that I just need to get my head round Martinez' way of writing, or their delivery. More books or a longer one might help. I'm not writing this series off just yet!

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

The unlikely black sheep of an ivory tower intellectual family, Angel Martinez has managed to make her way through life reasonably unscathed. Despite a wildly misspent youth, she snagged a degree in English Lit, married once and did it right the first time, (same husband for almost twenty-four years) gave birth to one amazing son, (now in college) and realized at some point that she could get paid for writing.

Published since 2006, Angel's cynical heart cloaks a desperate romantic. You'll find drama and humor given equal weight in her writing and don't expect sad endings. Life is sad enough.

She currently lives in Delaware in a drinking town with a college problem and writes Science Fiction and Fantasy centered around gay heroes.

1 view
bottom of page