top of page

Lord of Ravens (Inheritance #3) by Amelia Faulkner


Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to

Fantasy, Folklore, Arthurian, Mythology, M/M

Lover. Predator. Killer. Laurence Riley’s inheritance comes with a price - one he's not at all sure he can pay. When his urge to hunt grows out of control, he sends a desperate prayer to his ancestor for guidance. But he never expected that Herne the Hunter would answer. Scion. Target. Victim. There are horrors lurking in Quentin d’Arcy’s past, but they won’t hide there forever. Something ancient is coming to take him home: a creature of nightmare who feasts on the flesh of children. When the choice is between his own life and the lives of innocents, there is no choice at all. Honesty is the worst policy. A legendary horror comes to San Diego, but it’s merely an emissary. Laurence has seen the real monster, and it’s a darkness which will destroy everything he loves – especially if Quentin ever finds out what it did to him as a child. It’s down to Laurence to prepare for war against a force which far outmatches him. The enemy has the most powerful weapon of all at his disposal, and if they’re to stand a chance, Laurence must master the same power. He must learn magic. Lord of Ravens is the third book in the Rainbow Award winning Inheritance series and contains mature themes and events which may be distressing to some readers. It has a moderate heat rating and an HFN ending.

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

I'm not gonna write a blurby bit, just gonna jump straight in with this one!

You really REALLY should read Jack of Thorns, book one and Knight of Flames before this one. You WILL need it.

I wrote in my review for book two, Knight of Flames that Quentin had much to tell about his upbringing. I quote from that review "I think Quentin has buried it deep, and it will take some time for Faulkner to dig it out of him. When we finally get it all, its gonna be bad, I know it is. Real bad. We have little hints, reactions, comments, here that make you think. But I'm not thinking too hard to put it together, not yet, because I have a feel I'm gonna be so terribly wrong." And by Goddess, it is bad. I strongly suggest you brace yourself for Chapter Thirteen. I'm not going to go into detail, save this. I am certain, absolutely dead CERTAIN that there is more to come, and it will be worse, far worse.

In other news! Quentin and Laurence's relationship continues to grow, in all ways, physically especially. I am thoroughly enjoying watching Quentin come out of himself with Laurence. For all of Quentin's properness, he has a dirty heart!

I must mention AGAIN the profound differences between Quen and Laurence, and how beautifully they are portrayed here. Faulkner tells their story in THEIR words, so the differences are marked; in words, thoughts and actions. And I do so love it!!

Quentin's father turns up, briefly, to try to get Quentin to return to England, and he sends something to hurry him along, causing problems for the children.

Herne plays a greater part here too, in teaching Laurence about his gifts. And that deal Laurence made with Morgan, that three parter?? It's gonna come back to bite him on the ass, I know it is!

There is, again, an epilogue that leave you with questions, questions, questions. But not from Freddy this time. Someone else. Someone who, ordinarily, I wouldn't mind hearing from, but after Chapter Thirteen?? I don't wanna, no ma'am, I really don't!

When you stay up til 2am in the morning just to finish a book, and you have to be at work at 8am, it can only get...

5 stars.

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Amelia Faulkner was born in the rolling green countryside of Oxfordshire, and moved to London once she was mostly grown up. She has a degree in Computer Science, and spent quite a long time working with computers until her childhood love of writing could no longer be ignored. Since then she has written for corporate clients and personal pleasure, and finally stepped away from office-bound working in 2011 to freelance from home. Amelia is also a keen photographer and film-goer, and resides in the city (not the City) with her husband. She is notoriously camera-shy.

1 view
bottom of page