TOUR, REVIEW & #GIVEAWAY - Secret Legacy (The Windhaven Witches #1) by Carissa Andrews



Book details:

Secret Legacy

by Carissa Andrews

(The Windhaven Witches #1)

Publication date: September 15th 2020

@XpressoTours, @Archaeolibrary, @CarissaAndrews

#Adult, #Paranormal, #Mystery, #Romance

☆☆~~ 50% of Royalties Donated to the American Cancer Society! ~~☆☆


Nestled in the woods of Windhaven, Blackwood Manor waits to unleash a dark and deadly legacy…


When Autumn Blackwood shows up at Windhaven Academy for the Witching Stick Orientation, she hopes to find out what dormant powers she could possibly possess to have been accepted to the elite supernatural school. Instead, the academy is in chaos as everyone frantically hunts for two missing girls.


But as school begins with Autumn no closer to figuring out her powers, strange occurrences start to follow her everywhere. Even at home, Blackwood Manor keeps many secrets, and Autumn can’t escape its haunting past.


New friends urge her to learn more about her family’s history in order to unlock her powers and make sense of what’s happening at Blackwood Manor, but Autumn’s not so sure. Once an accident brings Autumn face-to-face with death, however, she realizes her gifts are tied to a legacy that can either save or doom them all…


Fans of Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House, Joe Hill’s Locke & Key, or MR Forbes’ Necromancer: The Complete Series will love The Windhaven Witches.


Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb


4 out of 5 (good)

Secret Legacy is the first book in The Windhaven Witches series and is full of quotes from Buffy, which I loved! Autumn thinks she is a 'normal' person and her mum encourages her to think that way. Her dad is supernatural but she doesn't have much to do with him. So imagine her surprise when she receives a full scholarship to a prestigious school that she never even applied for. She decides to go for it and then is swept away by forgotten memories, unknown abilities, and mysteries.


The one thing I wasn't too keen on is the Wade situation. Not only was it insta-love but there is seriously something off with that dude and Autumn never seems to notice! And please don't tell me about his silver eyes any more! I just can't cope!!


Apart from that, there was plenty here to keep me occupied and turning the pages. I would love to know more about the other main characters and the school Autumn is attending but, maybe, that is something that will follow in later books.


There are some usual tropes in this book - from normal girl with untold powers to slightly dodgy boyfriend - but it is entertaining. The world-building could do with some work as I have questions about how the supernatural fits into everything but, on the whole, it wasn't bad.


A great start to a new series and I can't wait to find out more. Definitely recommended by me.

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Merissa

Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Click HERE to follow the tour - links updated daily.

“An author emerges from the depths of Minnesotan waters. Sci-fi/Fantasy is my pen of choice.” Carissa Andrews is a Minnesota-based genre-bending author who writes a combination of science fiction, fantasy, and dystopia. When not writing her own books, she’s busy reading them. Carissa’s internationally bestselling trilogy, The Pendomus Chronicles, is now in digital, print, and audiobook formats. She has hit the scene as an up and coming speculative fiction author who uses a mix of scifi and fantasy, twisted in modern mythology and alternative history. Check out The Final Five, Oracle, Awakening, and Love is a Merciless God! Carissa has big plans for 2020. Check out her upcoming series, The Windhaven Witches. For more information on their release, visit Carissa Andrews’ author website: www.carissaandrews.com and sign up for her newsletter notifications. She lives in central Minnesota with her husband and brood of five kids. Not to mention, her insane husky puppies, Aztec and Pharaoh. Carissa is also a freelance graphic designer, writer and content creator, social media manager, and marketing professional. She writes consistently on topics of science, technology, art, writing, photography, graphic design, health, self-improvement, and more. Her articles can be found published across the interwebs. Carissa is also a Top-Rated Freelancer on Upwork, and can be contacted for freelancing opportunities: http://bit.ly/UpworkCarissaAndrews


Author links:

https://www.carissaandrews.com/

https://www.instagram.com/Carissa_Andrews_MN/

https://www.pinterest.ca/carissaandrews/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5755860.Carissa_Andrews

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarissaAndrews

https://twitter.com/CarissaAndrews


Tour Organised by: Xpresso Book Tours


23 views

Recent Posts

See All