Tour & #Giveaway: She's the One Who Doesn't Say Much by Sherrie R. Cronin

@GoddessFish, @Archaeolibrary, @cinnabar01,

#Historical, #Fantasy,

Olivine, the fourth of seven sisters, has been hiding a secret as she travels to K’ba to meet her artist friends. Others assume she has fallen in love with another artist, and it’s not a match Mother would consider suitable. But it’s much worse that. For on the way to K’ba is the dirt poor nichna of Scrud, a place scorned by all other Ilarians. And in Scrud is the one man who understands her.

However, Bohdan is also is a realist, and a man who recognizes the dangers posed by an impending Mongol invasion. When he learns of Olivine’s unusual visual powers, he convinces her to pick up her bow and arrow and start practicing.

She does, though she’s more concerned with producing enough art to raise the funds to run away from home and live in K’ba, where she can paint all day and see Bohdan as often as she wants. If only her sister Ryalgar hadn’t learned of what she can do and decided Olivine and her fellow long-eyes held one of the keys to defending the realm.

Then, as if life wasn’t complicated enough, Olivine learns the artist community she yearns to be part of has developed a different take on the invasion. They feel certain the only way to survive is to capitulate completely to the Mongols demands. Artists who feel otherwise are no longer welcome.

Where does her future lie? The supposed invasion is coming soon and Olivine doesn’t have much time to decide.

Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb

Universal Purchase Link - click HERE

I settled onto the front porch of our farmhouse early one morning, hoping to sketch before the day got too hot. I knew of a bird’s nest in a tree a hundred paces away, tilted so I could see the eggs from the porch.

I enjoyed the morning breeze on my face as the world blurred around the edges as my eyes focused on the tree in the distance. I turned the force of my stare onto its branches as the small nest filled my field of vision and the leaves around it smeared into an indistinguishable green haze. I stared harder as I studied how the light reflected off of the tiny eggs, preparing to draw.

“Put that sketchbook down and do something useful.” My mother's voice pulled me back with words she’d said a thousand times before. “You’re wasting your life with those drawings. How will you find a husband if you never get out there and talk to anyone?”

I don’t want a husband. He’ll expect me to cook and clean instead of draw and paint. Why would I want that?

But I knew to keep such an answer to myself.

“Just let me finish this one thing,” I replied for the thousandth time. Then I picked up my charcoal as she shook her head and walked back into the house.

4 out of 5 (very good)

SHE'S THE ONE WHO DOESN'T SAY MUCH is the fourth book in the War Stories of the Seven Troublesome Sisters series and we get Olivine's story.

Olivine is the one who has long eyes and is an artist. She isn't bothered about marriage, let alone to a prince. She doesn't face her problems head-on. Instead, she buries her head in the sand and hopes they fade away. When one problem, in particular, doesn't disappear, she makes a false vow of celibacy which you immediately know will come back to bite her in the ass! And it does.

I am loving this series. Each story tells the same story but from a different perspective and, trust me, it really works! The only downside is it makes me want to read all the books at the same time so I can see the different viewpoints as they happen. Instead, I have to contain myself and stick with one story.

Bless her, I did love Olivine. She doesn't want to be involved but, in the end, has no choice. Her life choices are not easy ones, but with her loved ones (including friends) surrounding her, she stands by what she wants.

With each book, I am left wanting to know more... more about after the end of the war, more about the sisters, and, in this case, more about the supporting characters. Of course, I want to know how Olivine and Bohdran are getting on, but I also NEED to know about Magomet!

A brilliant addition to a fantastic series. I really can't recommend these highly enough and can't wait to see who comes next.

** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *


Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found HERE

Sherrie Cronin is the author of a collection of six speculative fiction novels known as 46. Ascending and is now in the process of publishing a historical fantasy series called The War Stories of the Seven Troublesome Sisters. A quick look at the synopses of her books makes it obvious she is fascinated by people achieving the astonishing by developing abilities they barely knew they had.

She’s made a lot of stops along the way to writing these novels. She’s lived in seven cities, visited forty-six countries, and worked as a waitress, technical writer, and geophysicist. Now she answers a hot-line. Along the way, she’s lost several cats but acquired a husband who still loves her and three kids who’ve grown up just fine, both despite how odd she is.

All her life she has wanted to either tell these kinds of stories or be Chief Science Officer on the Starship Enterprise. She now lives and writes in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where she admits to occasionally checking her phone for a message from Captain Picard, just in case.

Author Social Media Links:






Author Blog:

Book Series Blog:

Tour hosted by: Goddess Fish Promotions