The Ghost is Clear (A Series of Midlife Curses #1) by Arial Burnz & AJ Nuest


Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb

Universal Purchase Link

@Archaeolibrary, @arialburnz, @AJNuest,

#Paranormal, #WomensFiction,

A Midlife Crisis…or Curse…or BOTH?


Life after forty is fun, they said. You can be whoever you want, they said.


Well, "they" were wrong. Getting old sucks and I’m cranky from the unexpected changes.


After fighting off the doldrums of an empty nest, I dreamed of getting a fresh start with my husband. Maybe David and I could fly off somewhere and rekindle our relationship with a second honeymoon.


Flip the script to an EPIC FAIL that ended in a near-fatal car accident, and after six weeks in a coma, David flushed me and our marriage of over two decades down the toilet I’d been scrubbing for years.


Now a single divorcée with chump change in my pocket, I’m forced to move into my childhood home. And to make matters worse, the place seems to be haunted. Or maybe I’m just having a nervous breakdown over the mystery of my brother’s suicide.


His creepy journals have been certainly keeping me awake at night. I could swear a strange entity is floating through my midst.


But hey, at least the hot handyman, helping me fix up the place, won’t stop walking around the property half dressed.


Geez, between the menopausal hormones and getting the house ready to sell, my muscles are twinging in places I didn’t know existed. If my therapist was right, and life is a do-over, then why is everything such a crisis? Midlife or not, I could swear I was cursed.


Guess I’m in charge of my own happy ending.



-----------------


Join Brooke Durand and her magical midlife crisis in the quirky town of Eerie, Indiana. Read Book 1 in this new hot-flash genre of Paranormal Women's Fiction. A Series of Midlife Curses is written by the dynamic duo of award-winning author AJ Nuest and USA Today bestselling author Arial Burnz.


Perfect for fans of K.F. Breene, Deanna Chase, Melinda Chase, Victoria Danann, Jana DeLeon, Heloise Hull, Elizabeth Hunter, Darynda Jones, Shannon Mayer, Kristen Painter, Robyn Peterman, Denise Grover Swank, Brenda Trim, and paranormal women's fiction.

4 out of 5 (very good)

THE GHOST IS CLEAR is the first book in the Series of Midlife Curses and it starts off sort of sad. Brooke is fighting a losing battle to save her marriage to a complete jerk who blames her for everything. A series of even more unfortunate events sends her back home and then the whole story really picks up.


I thought Brooke was an amazing character. She is no wallflower, even when her body hurts, and she is certainly not afraid of a little elbow grease. She is ably supported by Theo and Mitch, both of whom I want to see more of!


The pace of this book is smooth, taking you from her disastrous anniversary meal, through to the satisfying conclusion. There is a teaser for the next book, which made me smile. I love how Brooke is in her mid-forties, with a body that aches, and the determination to make things happen.


All in all, this was a brilliant read, and a fantastic beginning to a new series! I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this book, and I eagerly await the next.

** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Merissa

Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Arial Burnz has been an avid reader of paranormal and fantasy for over thirty years. With bedtime stories filled with unicorns, hobbits, dragons and elves, she succumbed to crafting her own tales, penning to life the magical creatures roaming her dreams. Having a romantic husband who's taught her the meaning of true love, she's helpless to weave romance into her tales. Now she shares them with the world. Arial Burnz lives in Southern California, with her husband (a.k.a. her romance novel hero)—who is also, quite coincidentally, a descendant of Clan MacDougal.


https://www.bookbub.com/authors/arial-burnz

I am a multi-published, award-winning author who lives in the middle of a cornfield in NW Indiana. My loving husband, two beautiful children and a bevy of spoiled pets have agreed to stay and, in exchange for three rations per day and laundry service, tolerate my lunacy. While I spend most days happily ensconced in crafting romance across a multitude of genres, an underground coup has been percolating. The dogs just informed me the cat is secretly vying for dictatorship.


https://www.bookbub.com/authors/aj-nuest

4 views