The Only Exception (Love in the Comptons #2) by Claire Huston


@Archaeolibrary, @ClaraVal,

#Contemporary, #Romance,

Lucinda Green knows something is missing from her life. But what? Her catering business is enjoying modest success and she loves her cosy house, even if she does have to share it with her irritating ex-fiancé.

Whatever’s making her unsettled and edgy, Lucinda’s certain that a lack of romance isn’t the problem. How could it be when she doesn’t believe in true love?

But Lucinda’s beliefs are shaken by a series of electric encounters with Alex Fraser, a newly notorious actor who gradually proves himself to be infuriatingly funny and smart, as well as handsome.

Not that any of that matters. Because Lucinda doesn’t believe in all that ‘The One’ nonsense. That’s the rule.

But doesn’t every rule have an exception?

This uplifting grumpy-meets-sunshine romance is perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Katie Fforde and Trisha Ashley.

Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

THE ONLY EXCEPTION is the second book in the Love in the Comptons series. although you could read it as a standalone. I wouldn't recommend this as you'd be missing out on a fantastic read of the first book.


Lucinda and Alex first meet in a lift, which runs into trouble, giving them trouble as well, in the shape of an elderly woman having a cardiac arrest. The story follows on from there, throwing our two main characters together, and leaving them no choice but to get to know each other.


Lucinda is prickly and Alex is charming, but both of them have more going on than you first realise. I loved the pace of this book - giving you time to get to know the characters and their situations without being rushed to the next part. Both of them are in their forties, which I think is brilliant! I love that they have had life experiences which helps them be who they are today.


Becky from book one made an appearance, and it was good to see her again.


Overall, this was a brilliant read that I loved from beginning to end. I love this author's writing style as it gives me everything I need. That being said, I have no hesitation in highly recommending this wonderful story.


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **


* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *


Merissa

Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire, UK, with her husband and two children. She writes uplifting modern love stories about characters who are meant for each other but need a little help to realise it.


A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for all the cakes mentioned in Art and Soul, her first novel, at clairehuston.co.uk along with over 150 other recipes. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

Amazon | BookBub | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Website

12 views

Recent Posts

See All