Tour & #Giveaway: The North Wind (The Four Winds #1) by Alexandria Warwick


Book details:

The North Wind

by Alexandria Warwick

(The Four Winds, #1)

Publication date: January 13th 2022

@Archaeolibrary, @XpressoTours,

#NewAdult, #Fantasy, #Romance,

Lush. Dark. Romantic. Introducing a newly reimagined tale written in the vein of Beauty and the Beast and Hades and Persephone.


Long before civilization, there were the gods. And before the gods, there was the earth, the celestial bodies, and air given flesh. They are the Anemoi—the Four Winds—and they have been banished to the four corners of the world.


Wren of Edgewood is no stranger to suffering. Her parents are gone. Survival is all she knows. For three hundred years, the land known as the Gray has been encased in ice, surrounded by a great barrier called the Shade, which protects the townsfolk from the Deadlands beyond.


But day by day, the Shade weakens.


Only one thing can stop the Shade’s fall: a mortal woman taken captive across the barrier, bound in wedlock to the dark god who reigns over the Deadlands. He is the North Wind, the Frost King, an immortal whose heart is said to be as frigid as the land he rules.


And the time has come for the Frost King to choose his bride.


The North Wind is a standalone, enemies-to-lovers fantasy romance, the first in a series sprinkled with Greek lore. Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout, Laura Thalassa, and Scarlett St. Clair.

Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb

Universal Purchase Link - Click HERE

4 out of 5 (very good)


THE NORTH WIND is the first in The Four Winds series, and we start off with Boreas. He is also known to the masses as The Frost King, and has a reputation for being as cold and uncaring as that he is named after. Wren has given her life to look after her twin, and gives the ultimate sacrifice when she goes as the Frost King's wife, instead of Elora.


This is a slow-burn romance, that changes from enemies-to-lovers. Nope, hold on. Let me rephrase that. Wren sees Boreas as her enemy, but he never thought the same way. To begin with, she was inconsequential to him apart from what he needed her for. But she wormed her way under his skin and that is where the story really comes into its own.


This is a long story, with steady pacing, that throws action and adventure into the mix, before it returns the focus to Wren and Boreas. One thing I have to say is Wren - oh, my god. Although I really enjoyed her character, and I LOVED how she was spicy and sharp, instead of all sweetness and light, I also wanted to shake her. It took her WAY too long to figure out what was going on. Honestly, someone should have written it in large letters on a blackboard and put it in her room. She may have taken notice of things then.


Now, one of the other brothers shows up here and I have mixed feelings about it. I'm going to be honest and say I didn't like him AT ALL. So, do I want to read a complete novel with him as the main attraction? I'm not sure. One thing I am sure of though, is that whoever is his opposite will be more than up to the challenge.


This was thoroughly enjoyable and I look forward to reading more by this author. Absolutely recommended by me.


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Merissa

Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Click HERE to follow the tour - links updated daily.

Alexandria Warwick is the #1 fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender. She is the author of The Demon Race and the North series. Author links: http://www.alexandriawarwick.com/ https://www.instagram.com/alexandriawarwick/ http://www.alexandriawarwick.com/newsletter/ https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15371632.Alexandria_Warwick

Tour Organised by: Xpresso Book Tours


20 views