top of page

VBT & #Giveaway: Secret Admirer Pact by Bernadette Marie



@authorbernadettemarie @GoddessFishPromotions @debbiereadsbooks


@authorbernadettemarie @goddessfishpromotions @debbiereadsbook


#authorbernadettemarie @GoddessFish @debbiereadsbook

When Will seeks to rekindle a flame with his ex-girlfriend, his best friend Monique reluctantly suggests a plan involving secret admirer notes to divert his ex’s attention. In a surprising turn, Monique finds herself infatuated with her new boss, prompting Will to reciprocate with anonymous tokens of affection. However, as the deceptive game unfolds, both Monique and Will come to realize that the heartfelt sentiments expressed in the secret admirer notes were their own true feelings. So, what happens if the plan works? What happens if it doesn’t?



Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb | BookBub

Universal Purchase Link - click HERE

From my pocket I retrieve a paper napkin with writing on it.

 

Will-

 

I’ve been watching you. I think you’re very handsome. I’d love to get to know you.

 

Love,

Your Secret Admirer

 

The note has me laughing. It’s written in Monique’s handwriting, and I can’t even imagine why she—

 

I look back down at the napkin and grin. So this is Monique’s wise idea to get Brandy to notice me? I now have a secret admirer? Am I supposed to leave these little notes around the house?

I can hear Brandy moving around her room. I look at the note again, and consider it.

Instead of taking my coffee mug with me, I set it on the note. She’ll notice that I forgot my coffee, and maybe she’ll see the writing on the napkin. Well, I have nothing to lose with Monique’s little game. Grabbing my messenger bag, I hike it up onto my shoulder and head out to work. As is the norm, my phone rings as I’m leaving my office and heading to lunch.

 

“So now you’re my secret admirer?” I ask as I answer the phone, knowing Monique is on the other end.

 

Her laugh filters through and brings me a bit of warmth as I step outside in the cold.

 

“Why, Will, I have no idea what you’re talking about,” she says on another laugh.

3 out of 5 (good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


I liked this book, but I didn't love it. Why?? I dunno, but book feelings are strong about this and ya'll know I need to share the book feelings!


It's a fun read, about friends who never really saw each other as anything other than best friends, until the thought of losing each other looms. And it's all laid out for you!


While there is romance here, there is no smexy times. I think that might be my biggest issue. I like my books smexy and I wanted Monique and Will to get their freak on, and they don't. At least, not on page. There's just some kissing.


It's painfully obvious who the secret admirers are, other than Will and Monique, but I didn't see the twist to Monique's boss' situation! So that was a great twist.


It's billed as a comedy romance. Now, I dunno if it was me, but I didn't get much comedy, at all!


It was a nice read (you know I don't like to use that word, but I can't find another one to fit!) one you can just fall into and wile away a couple hours, or less. Took me 90 mins.


I'd like to read something else by this author, I haven't read her work before, but a longer work.


3 good stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book; the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found HERE



Bestselling Author Bernadette Marie writes contemporary romances and believes in Happily Ever After. The married mother of five believes in love at first sight, quick love, and second chances. An avid martial artist, Bernadette Marie is a certified instructor and holds a third degree black belt in Tang Soo Do. She loves Tai Chi, traveling to Disney parks, and having lunch with friends. When not writing, or running her own publishing house, Bernadette is probably immersed in a Rom Com, from which she will often quote one-liners.

 


Tour hosted by: Goddess Fish Promotions


32 views
bottom of page