top of page

Half Truths (Helheim Wolf Pack Tale #2) by Lauren Dawes

Updated: Aug 16, 2021


Universal Purchase Link

@Archaeolibrary, @MagicPenTours, @authorldawes

HE NEEDS TO FIND THE KILLER



The Helheim pack is still reeling from the abduction of their alpha's mate. While Rhett begins the search to get her back, Vaile is distracted by a series of brutal murders at the local Goth club which have all the hallmarks of a vampire killer. Left to put the bloody pieces of the puzzle back together, he can’t help but think there is some sort of connection between the two occurrences...


SHE DEMANDS TO KNOW HIS SECRET



Larissa Grey has just been assigned to the service of Vaile Wolfe, an intimidating, dominating detective who scares people to get his way. When the case they're working starts getting strange, she demands answers from her partner but discovers only more questions. Will she be able to find the answers, or will Vaile prevent her from finding out the truth?

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

This is book 2 in the Helheim Wolf Pack series, and you really MUST read book one, Half Blood, first. This is a continuous story line and not everything is recapped.

And again, I really ENJOYED this, but I didn't quite love, and it's mostly ME that is the reason, not the book. (I think!)

I still cannot see the bigger picture, I really can't! It's driving me nuts that I can't even make one up, as I am prone to do, and I can't see where this is all going. AT. ALL!


Vaile is the focus of this book, and his new, human, FEMALE police partner. Dealing with the murders at the nightclub brings many questions for Larissa, and Vaile is hiding something. Something big. It's pissing her off and she will get to the bottom of it! Rhett and Indi's relationship begins to move at a much faster pace, especially once they sort out her food problem. I'm not sure I like the final solution, and I think Rhett might struggle with it too.

The search for Alpha's mate intensifies, throwing up some major spanners in the works, some twists I really didn't see coming.

It's dark and deadly. Bloody and emotional. Sexy and sweet. The violence is graphic and the sex explicit, and I loved that they were!

Lots of people again have a say, and I was ready for that this time, so I really enjoyed the stage setting in this book.

And another bloody (quite LITERALLY!) cliffhanger! *throws toys out the pram and spits dummy out*

Creeping up to 4.5 stars though!


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Lauren Dawes is an urban fantasy/paranormal romance writer and the author of the Half Blood Series and the Dark Trilogy. She likes her vampires dangerous, her werewolves vicious and her Norse gods ruthless.


When she’s not writing, she’s reading, hanging with her young daughter or designing book covers. She currently lives in Canberra, Australia.

Author Links:


Tour hosted by: Magic Pen Book Tours


13 views
bottom of page