top of page

Finnegan's Promise by Carol Lynne


Universal Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to

How much will it cost Fin to keep his promise?

During the off-season, professional football player Calder Finnegan returns to Boston to help run his estranged father’s pub. Little did he know he’d find the love of his life in the pub's bartender, Mick Sullivan. Fin soon discovers his father has only weeks to live. All his hopes of getting to know the man who always seemed too busy to be a father are dashed. With Mick’s help, Fin begins the healing process between father and son and through this some of Mick’s wounds are healed as well. When Fin makes a deathbed promise to his father, he’ll do anything to keep that promise. Even if it costs him his lover and his career.

3 out of 5 (good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Calder Finnegan goes home to his father's pub to help while Sean goes on holiday to Ireland. But Sean is ill and he keeps that from Fin. Bar man Mick knows, but is sworn to secrecy by Sean. As Mick and Fin grow closer, Mick is torn between his growing love for Fin, and his utmost respect for Sean. When Fin finds out, he is devastated that he can't have the relationship with his father he always wanted. Finding it hard to word what I want to say about this book, I did mostly enjoy it, but it didn't blow me away. It is well written, from both Mick and Fin's point of view and I didn't spot any editing or spelling errors. It was just a nice book! I'm sorry, I really am, that i can't find a better word for it. It passed a plane trip quite . . . .nicely! I think more could have been made of Fin coming out to his football teammates, because that doesn't happen here and I think it should have. I'm not usually one for professions of love so very early on, but it felt right here. Given they knew this time together was limited, they went all in. I've read one other book by Lynne and I said the heat level in that book was low. But here, it seems to have gone to the opposite extreme. Oh, don't get me wrong, I'm all for high heat level books, IF it fits in the story. But I think the story suffered a bit here. So, for a nice easy read, 3 stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

An avid reader for years, one day Carol Lynne decided to write her own brand of erotic romance. While writing her first novel, Branded by Gold, Carol fell in love with the M/M genre. Carol juggles between being a full-time mother and a full-time writer. With well over one hundred releases, one thing is certain, Carol loves to keep busy writing sexy cowboys, shifters, bodyguards, vampires and everything in between. Although series books are her passion, Carol enjoys penning the occasional stand-alone title.

As founder and President of GRL Retreat, Inc., Carol helps organize the annual GayRomLit Retreat. Now in its sixth year, GayRomLit is an annual retreat that brings together the people who create and celebrate LGBT romance for a one-of-a-kind, must-attend gathering of dynamic, informal, and diverse fun.

1 view
bottom of page