top of page

A Hero For The Empire (The Dragon's Bidding #1) by Christina Westcott


Universal Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to

A beautiful cybernetic SpecOps agent, and immortal mercenary, and a telepathic cat. Commander Kimber FitzWarren is running on borrowed time. The cybernetic augmentations that give her superhuman strength and speed have also shortened her life. The success of her next mission is imperative, not only to save her Empire, but because this operation could be her last. She joins a group of idealistic officers plotting to topple the corrupt Imperial government, but the only key to placing missing military legend Arianne Ransahov on the throne lies with the one man who knows how to locate her, mercenary Wolf Youngblood. Wolf has recently survived one Imperial assassination attempt, so when Fitz shows up in his bedroom at 0-dark-30, he’s reluctant to trust her, until another assassin tries to kill them both. Pursued by Imperial warships, swarmed by mind-sucking parasites, and attacked by giant alien bugs, they’re left with no one to depend on but each other...and Wolf's wise-cracking telepathic cat, Jumper. A bond grows between the pair, one so strong even their secrets can't destroy it, but before Fitz and Wolf can explore what's left of their future together, they first have to survive this mission.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Kimber FitzWarren is an augie: a human with cybernetic enhancements. She is sent to talk to Wolf Youngblood to gain the whereabouts of the only person with the right to be the next emperor, Arianne Ransahov, who happens to be Wolf's ex. There are forces at work keeping these people apart, and a secret that might well kill them all. I have a thing about dragons, and 99 times out of a hundred, I won't even read the blurb if the word Dragon appears in the title, I'll just say yes please. So I need to say this: there are NO DRAGONS IN THIS BOOK!!! That said . . . I really enjoyed this!! Sci-fi isn't usually my thing so I was stepping out of my comfort zone here, but I was fully engrossed in this book. There is quite a lot of technical talk and some went over my head, especially the secret that Wolf was keeping. It sorta springs on you, and it meant I had to slow my reading down and concentrate, but that's not a bad thing, not at all. It just meant I took longer than usual to read the 300 odd pages this is. It's very well written, from both Wolf and Fitz's point of view. It's not overly explicit but it does get a bit . . . . .messy . . . .in places, what with fighting the bugs and other unsavoury characters. Have to say, I particularly enjoyed reading the fighting scenes, even if I almost felt every punch thrown, and every shot fired!! Like I said, outside my comfort zone!! But really REALLY good!! Oh. Must mention Jumper, the telepathic cat who names Wolf as his person! Loved him. Great character amid a huge cast. There is a second book, I believe, with these people and I would love to read it. I'd like to know that what Wolf, Fitz and Ari are fighting for comes to fore. Plus I like the way Westcott spins a tale. An excellent step outside the comfort zone, and one I highly recommend. 4 solid stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

As long as she can remember, Christina Westcott has had imaginary people living in her head. Cyborgs, mercenaries, wizards, dragons and cats. Lots of cats--shape shifting cats, talking cat and telepathic cats. After continual nagging from this bizarre cast of characters inside her, Chris decided to turn them loose on the world in her science fiction and fantasy stories. She's been a collector of not only books and cats, but of experiences, riding in rodeos, driving racecars and flying airplanes. All good experience for becoming a writer. Chris is a member of Romance Writers of America and a professional member of Cat Writers' Association. Next feather she's looking to stick in her cap is membership in Science Fiction Writers of America. She lives in sunny Southwest Florida where she delights in telling all her friends "up north" the local temperature in the middle of January and she proudly wears the moniker "Crazy Cat Lady".

1 view
bottom of page