top of page

Rebel (415 Ink #1) by Rhys Ford


Universal Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to

The hardest thing a rebel can do isn’t standing up for something—it’s standing up for himself.

Life takes delight in stabbing Gus Scott in the back when he least expects it. After years of running from his past, present, and the dismal future every social worker predicted for him, karma delivers the one thing Gus could never—would never—turn his back on: a son from a one-night stand he’d had after a devastating breakup a few years ago.

Returning to San Francisco and to 415 Ink, his family’s tattoo shop, gave him the perfect shelter to battle his personal demons and get himself together… until the firefighter who’d broken him walked back into Gus’s life.

For Rey Montenegro, tattoo artist Gus Scott was an elusive brass ring, a glittering prize he hadn’t the strength or flexibility to hold on to. Severing his relationship with the mercurial tattoo artist hurt, but Gus hadn’t wanted the kind of domestic life Rey craved, leaving Rey with an aching chasm in his soul.

When Gus’s life and world starts to unravel, Rey helps him pick up the pieces, and Gus wonders if that forever Rey wants is more than just a dream.

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

3 years after a devastating break up, Gus discovers he is a father, and returns home from his running. He can't keep running and fight for his son at the same time. But returning home means he will have to face Rey, the only man to ever hold his heart. Facing Rey means he will have to face his feelings for the man, and when things get scary, Rey is who Gus turns to.

I love Rhys Ford's work, you know I do, and this, the first in a new series, is no exception!

I am going to be vague about some things, here, because, spoilers and all that, so bare with me, OK??

What I particularly loved about this book was there was no break up between the guys, they had that already, devastating to them both it was. They both have painful history, and I mean painful! But they get their act together, and pull together to see through that history, the reason Rey pushed Gus away, why Gus let him, is heartbreaking to read, had me sobbing my little heart out in places! But the joy they find in each other is amazing, even though it takes them waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too long to finally, FINALLY get down n dirty.

Or that's what I thought, it was too long before they get their sexy on. But now I'm typing my review up, this book is not about the sex between these two guys, it's about the LOVE. Cos these guys DO love each other, still, even after 3 years. It's about getting past the chains of your history, and releasing the pieces of those chains into the wind, so you can finally and totally, be happy with, not only your partner, but with yourself.

I sat down to read a few chapters before bed, and the next thing I know, I've bawled my eyes, swore so loudly at certain characters, I disturbed not only the cat, but the child in the next room too, and its midnight, and I have no book left! So, yeah, awesome read!

This book is based around the 5 brothers of 415 Ink, and I cannot wait to read the other tales these guys have to tell. I'd love to know how the name came about for the tattoo shop, too.

OH!!!

Smooth cameos appearances and mentions from a huge variety of Ford's characters and some nods to characters who terrorize their authors too. Smooth, really smooth! I had to double back, and reread bits where they popped up! LOVED that!

When a books pulls you in, so totally, painfully and emotionally devastatingly well, it can only get...

5 full stars, tattooed with a different point for each brother. **same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and my comments here are my honest opinion. *

Rhys Ford is an award-winning author with several long-running LGBT+ mystery, thriller, paranormal, and urban fantasy series and was a 2016 LAMBDA finalist with her novel, Murder and Mayhem. She is published by Dreamspinner Press and DSP Publications. She’s also quite skeptical about bios without a dash of something personal and really, who doesn’t mention their cats, dog and cars in a bio? She shares the house with Yoshi, a grumpy tuxedo cat and Tam, a diabetic black pygmy panther, as well as a ginger cairn terrorist named Gus. Rhys is also enslaved to the upkeep a 1979 Pontiac Firebird and enjoys murdering make-believe people.

0 views
bottom of page