top of page

Home Skillet (Culinary Kings #1) by Cate Ashwood & Sandra Damien


Universal Purchase Line - Click HERE

Sometimes the only way to move forward… is to go back. JAMES I don't know what's more shocking—the sudden end to my marriage, or the fact that I'd married a woman at all. But now I'm broke and homeless, kicked out of my Upper West Side apartment while my ex-wife walks away with everything we've ever worked for. So what's an executive chef stripped of his dignity gonna do? Go back to Jersey with his tail between his legs, that's what. BEN I can’t say that spending a decade pining after my best friend was the best use of my time. While I'd pretty much become an expert at the whole unrequited love thing, I'd resigned myself to the fact that Jimmy and I were never gonna happen. But when Jimmy turned up on my doorstep in his hour of need, I jumped at the chance to offer him my bed—er, couch. I mean, what are friends for, right? Now that he's released from the shackles of matrimony, I can't wait to show him exactly what he's been missing out on all these years. What I didn't anticipate was him showing me that maybe I'd been missing out too.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

James finds himself with a divorce, and the loss of his precious restaurant so he runs to the only place, the only person, he ever really called home. Ben has loved James forever, but having him crashing on his couch is playing havoc with his well built walls. But is what Ben feels as one sided as he thinks??

For the most part, I enjoyed this. I just found James a little much to deal with at times!

And I am left with questions that didn't get answered. I'm NOT going to voice them here, because if you read reviews before buying you might be left with the same questions and it might spoil it for you. It did NOT spoil my reading experience, not at all, I'm just left wondering about a few things.

I did like that James to the realization of his feelings for Ben before Ben made a move. I did like that, once they decided to do this, James and Ben go ALL in, especially on James' part, since he's been in the closet all this time.

It was a lovely read, a perfect way to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon. A little longer than the usual hang over cure, but I used it as such.

A not overly complicated, well written tale, with just a few things missing.

4 solid stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Cate discovered her love for books of all kinds early on, but romance is where her heart truly lies. She is addicted to the happily ever afters and the journey the characters take to get there. Currently residing in White Rock, B.C, Cate loves living just a stone's throw from the ocean. When she's not writing, she can be found consuming coffee at an alarming rate while wrangling her children, her husband, and their two cats.

Cate loves to hear from readers. You can contact her at cateashwood@gmail.com or on her website http://www.cateashwood.com.

If you’d like to get up-to-date information, exclusive excerpts and content, and giveaways, be sure to sign up for Cate’s Newsletter or join her at Cate & Co, her facebook group for readers

There’s two sides to Sandra Damien: some days she’s utterly hilarious (at least in her head), and there are times her dark twin reigns. Her stories reflect both, but the one thing that unites them is, of course, love.

5 views
bottom of page