top of page

RELEASE BLITZ, REVIEW & #GIVEAWAY - Zed (Rough Ink, #1) by M.V. Ellis


Title: Zed

Author: MV Ellis

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Series: Rough Ink, book 1

Release Date: June 29, 2019

Cover Designer: PopKitty Design

Universal Purchase Link

@HotTreePromos, @debbiereadsbook, @authormvellis

Secrets from his past have scarred his heart. Can he trust her enough to learn to love again? In the eyes of the law, I’d atoned for the secrets of my past, but in my heart, I knew the debt I owed was too big to ever be repaid. I didn’t ask for forgiveness, because I knew I wasn’t worthy of it. Guilt weighed me down and scarred my heart. If it wasn’t for my art, I’d probably be dead. The truth was, I had nothing else to live for. Or so I thought until Octavia Douglas came breezing unexpectedly into the picture. Sexy, stubborn, and smart enough to know better than to throw her future away on a guy like me, Vivi made me question everything I thought I already knew. I suddenly craved the happy ever after I’d never dared dream of, and knew I didn’t deserve.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

When Xavier comes into his tattoo shop, demanding Zed stamp his father on his ass, Zed knew this was NOT going to be a good day. When said teenager then throws up all over him, Zed loses his temper and calls the last nmber in the teenager's phone to come get him. When Octavia turns up for Xavier, Zed knows his life will never be the same again. But Zed has demons, ones he cannot ever forgive himself for. Why should he be happy, after what he has done?

I liked this, I liked the A LOT! Not quite enough to stretch to 5 stars, but still, a rather excellent read.

It's not immediately clear what Zed did, to hate himself so much, and when all is revealed, you see WHY does. It also takes time for the FULL story to come out. Makes you understand why he does what he does when he comes face to face with his brother after all this time.

Octavia is feisty, I liked her! She knows what she wants, even if she isn't getting it yet. She knows Zed has demons, and the lawyer in her grills him, but he's not giving up. She uses her own resources to find that out. Not really fair to Zed though, I thought!

The chemistry between them burns hot from the very beginning but it takes time for them to get to the main event. The fact that Zed ruins it, is besides the point! He knows Octavia is for him, but he can't be happy, not at all, it's not fair that he be happy.

Xavier, the spoilt, entitled teenager? He's the one who brings them together. His letter to Zed towrds the end made me cry! And then I find out what Octavia's letter says! More tears, for a one liner!

Book one in the series, and the first of Ellis' books I've read. More, I really need more! I'm assuming the guys and gals who work in the ink shop will get a story, since it's billed as the Rough Ink series. I hope that's so, cos some interesting characters here! Maybe, just maybe, even Xavier will get his happy ever after, cos Lord knows the boy really does need it!

A thoroughly enjoyable way to spend the afternoon.

4 solid stars

** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

MV ELLIS knows what it’s like to fall head over heels in love with a badass musician. She followed her heart halfway around the world to be with one. She moved from London to Sydney after a steamy holiday romance with a sexy bass player in sultry Brazil.

Twelve years, two children and a dog later, and she’s still smitten. All this with a guy she sat next to on a bus for 36 hours! She has toured internationally as a “WAG,” and her experiences inspire her writing.

Ellis’s love of romance began when she was 11 years old, after a summer spent secretly reading her auntie’s books. She’s been a sucker for an alpha hero and strong heroine ever since.

An avid reader, Ellis always knew she’d write a book of her own one day. She was right about that. Following a career spanning advertising, marketing, and social media, she finally wrote Catching London in 2017.

Tour organised by: Hot Tree Promotions

4 views
bottom of page