top of page

The Rogue King (Inferno Rising #1) by Abigail Owen


Book details:

Published by: Entangled: Amara Publication date: July 30th 2019

@XpressoTours, @debbiereadsbook, @AOwenBooks

Kasia Amon is a master at hiding. Who—and what—she is makes her a mark for the entire supernatural world. Especially dragon shifters. To them, she’s treasure to be taken and claimed. A golden ticket to their highest throne. But she can’t stop bursting into flames, and there’s a sexy dragon shifter in town hunting for her… As a rogue dragon, Brand Astarot has spent his life in the dark, shunned by his own kind, concealing his true identity. Only his dangerous reputation ensures his survival. Delivering a phoenix to the feared Blood King will bring him one step closer to the revenge he’s waited centuries to take. No way is he letting the feisty beauty get away. But when Kasia sparks a white-hot need in him that’s impossible to ignore, Brand begins to form a new plan: claim her for himself…and take back his birthright.

Universal Purchase Link - Click HERE

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Jumping straight in here, cos ooooooeeeee I did LOVE this book!!

Brand is a rogue dragon, without a clan. Kasia, a Phoenix without a family. A Phoenix is the only one who can mate with the High King of ALL the dragons, and the makes her valuable. Brand is tasked with delivering Kasia to the Blood King, to his only friend from childhood. But Kasia ignites something in Brand, and he knows he cannot give up his mate.

This was, quite possibly, my favourite read this month! I mean, I had a lie in, read a few pages before you have to dig yourself out your pit, and before you know it, 3 hours has past and you've about flung your kindle (but not quite!) at the wall, cos now you NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED book two, yesterday!

Everyone, and I mean everyone IMPORTANT has a say: Kasia, Brand, and all those trying to get Kasia (but not saying who!)

Not everything is immediately clear, and you put things together all kinds of wrong before things are cleared up. And I LOVE being kept on my toes!

It's different, and I LOVE different, with the Phoenix being the key to High King status. With female born dragons being unable to bare children. With Kasia and her sisters having hidden for so long, and Kasia not doing so well hiding herself anymore.

There is an ongoing story arc, that makes you NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED book two, yesterday, to see what happens to Kasia's sisters. You can't see what's going to happen, not in the long term, but a massive clue screams at you for one sister, and there is another, much less subtle clue, for another. Whether that pans out how I see it, remains to be seen, but I WILL be reading these books!

Thank you, Ms Owen, for proper making my day!

5 bright and shiny stars

** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

The Rogue King is the first book in the Inferno Rising series, and has firmly placed this author on my favourites list, even though this is the first book of hers I have read!

It has quite a sad beginning, which sets the story for the rest of it. You immediately get a feel of who is 'good' and who is 'bad', even if the characters themselves are unsure just where they belong. Speaking of the characters, I loved Brand and Kasia. They are the perfect match, and I loved Kasia's stubborn, feisty, yet at times oh-so-logical attitude. Brand is the possessive alpha who has no idea he's met the woman who is his perfect match.

The story is intriguing from start to finish, and I really want to continue with this series. I need to know more about each of the sisters, and just what their stories will be. The epilogue is intriguing and I can't wait to see the sparks between Skylar and Ladon.

It's not very often I will give out a five-star review for the first of a series, but this one just ticked all of my boxes, and I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. Absolutely recommended by me.

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Merissa

Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Click HERE to follow the tour - links updated daily.

Multi-award-winning paranormal romance author, Abigail Owen, loves plots that move hot and fast, feisty heroines with sass, alpha heroes with heart, a dash of snark, and oodles of sexy shifters! Other titles include wife, mother, Star Wars geek, ex-competitive skydiver, spreadsheet lover, Dr. Seuss quoter, eMBA, organizational guru, Texan, Aggie, and chocoholic.

Abigail grew up consuming books and exploring the world through her writing. She attempted to find a practical career related to her favorite pastime by earning a degree in English Rhetoric (Technical Writing). However, she swiftly discovered that writing without imagination is not nearly as fun as writing with it. She currently resides in Austin, Texas, with her own personal hero, her husband, and their two children, who are growing up way too fast.

For the latest news and exclusive excerpts, sign up for her newsletter here: http://eepurl.com/Lw2XH

Abigail also writes award-winning sexy contemporary romance and romantic comedy under the name Kadie Scott. AND sweet contemporary romance under the name Kristen McKanagh.

Author links:

Tour Organised by: Xpresso Book Tours

19 views
bottom of page