top of page

Tour & #Giveaway: A Fall of Light by L.J. Greene


@GoddessFishPromotions @debbiereadsbooks


@goddessfishpromotions @debbiereadsbook


@authorljgreene @GoddessFish @debbiereadsbook

LJ Greene brings to life one of her most compelling characters: the intensely creative bass guitarist, Greg Van de Meer. A Fall of Light weaves together the strands of Greg’s private and public lives—a shattering personal history, a love affair with potentially disastrous consequences, and family bonds that are stretched to their breaking point.


It’s been fifteen years since Greg was outed by his fundamentalist father at age sixteen and sent from home, with devastating consequences for both he and his younger brother, Asher. Now unlaid ghosts from the past are stirring. With his band’s success on the world stage, Greg’s life takes a complicated turn when he develops a friendship with Louis Angel, an ex-Marine with a secret of his own, and finds himself facing familiar threats from an unexpected source.


Strained loyalties, a private affair, and Greg’s own guarded history collide dangerously until a visit from an old foe forces him to confront past wounds and present beliefs. Allegiances are called into question and he must decide whether the secrets he’s fighting to protect are worth the life he’s finally ready to have.


A Fall of Light is a standalone adult contemporary M/M romance.

Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb | BookBub

Universal Purchase Link - click HERE

He’d forgotten. Not just what it felt like to be touched by a man, but how much a part of him those desires truly were. He’d spent so much of his life in wary vigilance, rarely being able to fully enjoy his sexuality or even the fruits of his life. And he’d had so many blessings, but he was always wary. It was exhausting to be so wary.


He closed his eyes, and just for a moment, let himself imagine what it would be like to surrender to another person’s care. No, to Louis’s care, specifically; not some other’s. To Louis’s willingness to take care of him, to lean on him, as he seemed to want Greg to do. To be himself—fully himself—and to trust Louis to accept him, warts and all.


Louis’s face was now turned away, half buried in the white mounds of his pillow, his sleep-warm arms clutching it.


I’m afraid, he explained to him, in his thoughts. I’m afraid I’m going to fall . . . to get used to this, he corrected himself firmly, and you’re going to decide that being with a man—or being with me—isn’t what you imagined it to be. “I told you,” he whispered softly aloud, “I’m not a casual person. And I’m afraid that I won’t be able to be casual about you.”


A soft snore was his only answer. He leaned over, breathing in the musky sweetness of that firm, smooth shoulder, and pressed a small, loving kiss there.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


Greg appears as a side character in a series by Greene. I have not read those books, but I don't feel I missed out on anything by not doing. I'm intrigued by this group, though, and may well go back and read them. *if I can find the time*


I gave this 4 stars, and one thing ONLY knocked that star off.

Single-person point of view.

Only Greg gets a say here, and I wanted, so desperately wanted to hear from Louis, at many key points along the way and I don't get him.

That said, it's the only fault I can find with this book.

I loved that Greg knew, deep down, that he wasn't a casual person, and he could never be casual with Louis. Yet he jumped right in with everything. I loved that Greg let Louis keep his secret for as long as he wanted to. He knew it would come out in the end, he just had to bide his time. I hated what Greg's brother was doing to him, I really did. Said brother does get his comeuppance though.

Greg's past is dark and shocking, being made homeless at 16, he did what he had to do to survive. Loved that Louis did NOT hold it against him, even if his own flesh and blood did. Loved that the band supported him doing the solo stuff, to appease his brother, and also that they stood by him.

It's not especially explicit for an MM romance, but I liked that here, it's more about the emotions going through Greg (since we don't get Louis!) than anything else.

Some difficult topics dealt with: religious intervention, conversion therapy, street life and doing what you need to do to survive. Triggers for some, be mindful.

This is the first I've read of Greene's work. Like I said, I'd like, *time allowing* to read the series that Greg first appears in, but if not, I will absolutely read any future books by this author.

4 very VERY good stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book; the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found HERE

LJ Greene is a self-professed obsessive multi-tasker who writes boring stuff by day and lets her inner romantic fly by night. This California native is married to the most amazing man and has two beautiful children, now old enough to read her books but still not interested because of the ew, gross factor. She’s an avid reader of all genres with an embarrassingly large ebook collection, and a weird penchant for reading the acknowledgements at the end of a novel. She’s also a music lover with no apparent musical talent, a travel enthusiast, and a cheese connoisseur.


Website: www.ljgreenebooks.com

Twitter: @authorljgreene


Tour hosted by: Goddess Fish Promotions


25 views

©2018 BY

ARCHAEOLIBRARIAN - I DIG GOOD BOOKS!

PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM

bottom of page