top of page

Against the Grain (Auckland Med. #4) by Jay Hogan


Universal Purchase Link

@Archaeolibrary, @ElizaNSDLittle (FB @ElizaRaeServices), @jayhoganauthor,

I don’t like labels and I’m happy that way, but it’s taken a long time to get here. A jerk of a father, too many bullies to name, and a string of dipshit boyfriends whose interest in me rarely made it past the skirts I sometimes wear. Suffice to say, my faith in men runs a little thin.


The last thing I need is a gruff, opinionated, fiery, closeted, Paralympian jock messing with my hard-won peace. Miller Harrison is a wrinkle in my life I could definitely do without. I have a job that I love at Auckland Med., a boss who understands me, and a group of friends who accept me as I am.


I should walk away.


But Miller knows a thing or two about living life against the grain, and that hope I thought I’d buried a long time ago, is threatening to surface.

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

This is book 4 in the Auckland Med series, but it can totally be read as a stand alone. I would, however, personally say that you should read the other three books, if only to get the full effect of this group of men. And by this group, I mean Cameron Wano 😁 Books one and two were 5 star reads from me, but book 3 took a dip to 3 stars.

Sandy is a pathologist and Miller is something to do with administration in the same hospital. Miller is, by his own admission, a bit of a man's man and still in the closet. Sandy, however, is not. Can they make this work?

What I loved about this was that neither Miller nor Sandy wanted a relationship and they both fell fast and HARD!

It's deeply emotional in places, but hot as hell in others. Both Sandy and Miller know what they want and like and make no effort to hide that fact. There's also a lot of fun between these guys, and I really loved the lighter bits in the darker ones.


Miller messes up BIG TIME, but he also redeems himself spectacularly!

Miller plays Murder Ball. I had to Google it, and found myself watching a lot of it to try to get the full picture. That game is vicious and when I watched some, then read the descriptions that Hogan gives me of the game, I found myself thinking, yeah, she got this dead on! Watch some, it really is vicious!


Quite possibly my newest favourite book from Hogan but it still has a long way to go to catch up to Digging Deep!


5 full and shiny stars

** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Jay is a New Zealand author writing in MM romance and romantic suspense primarily set in New Zealand. She loves writing character driven romances with lots of humour, a good dose of reality and a splash of angst. She's travelled extensively, lived in many countries, and in a past life she was a critical care nurse, nurse educator and counsellor. Jay is owned by a huge Maine Coon cat and a gorgeous Cocker Spaniel. She loves to cook-- pretty damn good, loves to sing --pretty damn average, and as for loving full-time writing--absolutely... depending on the word count, the deadline, how obliging her characters are, and how much coffee she's had.


2020 LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST IN GAY ROMANCE for her novel 'DIGGING DEEP'


10 views
bottom of page