top of page

Callisto 2.0 (Shambhala Saga #1) by Susan English


@SusanEnglish001 @debbiereadsbooks


#SusanEnglish @debbiereadsbook


#SusanEnglish @debbiereadsbook

She had to travel beyond the planet to discover her true self. Will she find the courage to walk through the doorway to a new future?


Shambhala Space Station, 2097. Solitary physicist Callisto (physics, after all, is a jealous mistress) never accepted conventional wisdom. So when she’s recruited to work on faster-than-light technology by a beautiful and mysterious older woman, she eagerly accepts the career opportunity at the women-only research station orbiting Earth’s moon. But her enthusiasm suffers when her first discovery is unexpected heartbreak.


Throwing herself into work on a problematic warp drive prototype, Calli blossoms in the utopian female community that shows her love and acceptance for the first time in her life. But when a twisted conspiracy, a disingenuous affair, and a disastrous betrayal test her place in this unique environment, the brilliant scientist must dig deep to find her moment of truth.


Will Calli embrace her destiny in an unexplored cosmos?


Callisto 2.0 is the transformative first book in the Shambhala Saga feminist science fiction series. If you like compassionate characters, deep-space intrigue, and hopeful visions of the future, then you’ll adore Susan English’s cosmic adventure.

Available in #KindleUnlimited

Zoe Leitner, Botanist


Hi, Zoe. Great to have you here with us today.I’ve read your latest research paper, and your work in microgravity hydroponic cultivation is truly impressive.

Thank you! I’m very passionate about what I do. Plants in space? That’s just cool.


Absolutely. For those who might not be in the know, can you fill us in aboutthe Portal al Porvenir Lunar Orbital Laboratorywhere you work?

Sure thing!We affectionately call the orbital lab Shambhala. It’s a massivefacilityin orbit around the Moon. You can think of it as an enormous laboratory in the lunar sky, buzzing with scientific innovation and exploration. WhatI really love is how we’ve blended state-of-the-art tech with a touch of nature. We’ve gotparks filled with flowers, and of course the farm, which is both a place for scientific investigation and a sanctuary for us all.


Sounds lovely. So, take us back a bit. How did your interest in botany come about?

I think it was always there, deeply rooted—no pun intended, ha-ha!As a kid, I spent all my spare time in our family garden; I was obsessed with watching plants grow, from seedlings to maturity. It’s amazing.Andlearning about thehardships we faced back in the 2050s with genetically modified food crops only intensified my dedication. I wanted to explore sustainable solutions, hence my focus on "old-school" selective breeding methods.


Being from Austria, how did growing up there influence your passion?

Austria is a wonderland for a budding botanist. Imagine alpine meadows and edelweiss blooming in the snow-covered peaks. Every summer, I’d be out there cataloging flowers, and those experiences sowed the seeds, so to speak, for my fascination for plant sciences.


Moving from Earth-based botany to space-based cultivation is quite the shift. What drew you to this unique research area?

During my PhD, I attended a seminar on space colonization. One key point raised was food sustainability. I realized that my love for plants could be translated into work that might be pivotal for humanity's future among the stars. That was the turning point for me.


You started your journey at Arcadia Research Station here on the Moon. How was your time there?

Arcadia was a fantastic steppingstone. Working on the Moon gave me firsthand insight into reduced gravity. But more importantly, it was my first taste of living and working in a close-knit off-Earth community.


Now, you’ve worked both at Arcadia Research Station and Shambhala. How would you compare the two experiences?

Arcadia was wonderful, working alongside talented women like Yasmin and Berit, the resident botanists. And I come back to visit – it’sa quick shuttle ride away. But Shambhala, that was a leap of faith! They had just finished construction when I came onboard, and as you might imagine, the first few months were quite an adventure – with every system a work in progress.


That sounds both thrilling and daunting. What made you stay?

Two reasons. First, the pure joy of pushing boundaries. Every day on Shambhala is a new discovery, especially in the field of microgravity cultivation. And second, the community. Everyone there is super supportive, and we've become a family. Plus, there’s something special about being a pioneer. Having been a part of Shambhala from the beginning, witnessing its evolution—there’s a unique sense of pride in that. And I feel I’m contributing to a legacy that could shape our future in space. Okay, maybe that was more than two reasons!


All equally valid! So, I understand that there are fewer than twenty women on the Shambhala crew. How important is camaraderie in such an isolated environment?

It’s everything. Living in microgravity, far from Earth, the bonds we form with our colleagues become our lifeline.


How has your work evolved since joining Shambhala?

Shambhala, with its advanced technologies and brilliant minds, has been incredible. I've had the chance to push the boundaries of what's possible with microgravity cultivation. We've had breakthroughs, failures, but every step has been a learning opportunity.


Can you give our readers a hint about your current project?

Certainly! Without revealing too much, I'm exploring the cultivation of medicinal plants that not only provide sustenance but can also help in maintaining the psychological well-being of astronauts during long missions.


Interesting. A little off-topic, but I've got to ask—any romantic sparks up there in space?

Well, I'll just say this—life has its surprises, and I prefer to keep some mysteries hidden among the cosmic expanse.


Fair enough! Being away from Earth, what do you miss the most?

Besides family and friends, I'd say the changing seasons. The crisp autumn air, the smell of fresh snow, the bloom of spring. The cosmos has its beauty, but Earth has a magic of its own.


It sounds like a dream come true for any scientist. Finally, any message for young scientists out there considering space botany?

Dream big and embrace the challenges. Every setback is an opportunity to learn and grow. And remember, the universe is vast, and opportunities are endless. The sky isn't the limit – it's just the beginning!


Thank you, Zoe, for this insightful chat. Your work is an inspiration.We wish you the best in your endeavors and hope to catch up again soon.

Thank you. It's always a pleasure to share the wonders of botany in space!

3 out of 5 (good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


This will be a short review, and for that I am sorry, My brain is shutting down, and I'm struggling to put much sense into my reviews!


I liked this enough to finish it, so that's a good thing right now!


I liked Callisto, I found her interesting and engaging. Her first-person voice is clear and defined. I liked her!


There is much science in this book. MUCH. I found it a little hard work at times, and easygoing at others. But I did find myself skimming over some parts too.


There is romance here, but I'm not tagging it as such. It's very much in the background. I would have liked more, to be honest, it might have broken up the science.


There is some repetition of the same point: that men are ruining the world and only women can fix it. It got a bit much.


So, I did finish it, and I can only really stretch to:


3 stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book; the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Susan English is an award-winning author, a born adventurer, and a world traveler with an insatiable intellectual curiosity. She holds a master’s degree in physics, once lived on a sailboat in the San Francisco bay, was a Peace Corps volunteer in Namibia, and spent five years on the Big Island of Hawaii, where she owned an off-grid, completely self-sufficient farm in the jungle. Now she is happy to be living with her wife in beautiful Medellin, Colombia, the city of eternal spring.


Amazon | BookBub | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | LinkedIn | Pinterest | Smashwords | Tumblr | Twitter | Website | YouTube

12 views
bottom of page