top of page

Crystal Blade (Paladins of Crystal #2) by Nicola M. Cameron


@debbiereadsbooks @nicolacameronwrites


@debbiereadsbook @nicolacameronwrites,


@debbiereadsbook @YesItsNicolaC

“You are the heir to the Garin royal family. And you should be the next Empress of Sideros.”


Two weeks ago I was a clerk at a Sav-R-Mart in downstate Illinois. That was before a bolt of lightning blasted me to a world where gods, muses, and magic are real, and five gorgeous lords swept me off my feet while we searched for a stolen royal jewel.


Now it seems that I have a shot at winning the whole darn crown—even better, it comes with the Buff Lords as my consorts. But to pull this off I need to control my wonky elemental magic and navigate some hella treacherous politics.


Oh, and did I mention I'm competing with my cousin for the throne? Talk about a family feud...

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


This is book 2 in the Paladins of Crystal series, and it cannot CANNOT be read as a stand alone. It picks up immediately after book one, Crystal Shard, finishes.

It picks you up, and drags you along for such a ride!

We learn more about this world and the people in it. Their ways and politics, their rules and traditions. And we learn more about Crystal, and her birth and what happened all those years ago.

It drags you, kicking and screaming, through history, through drama, through the beginnings of love between Crystal and her Buff Lords, and possibly it might all end in death for one and all.

The romance that didn't happen in book 1 begins here. Granted, it comes in single and double instalments, but the group scenes haven't happened, YET!

I loved Crystal's strength. She gets wrung through the wringer here, and she just takes it all in her stride. A great skill for a budding empress!

And again!! Oh my god, this author is gonna kill me, she really is!

Massive cliff hanger, people, MAHOOSIVE cliff hanger, that I kinda saw coming, but really hoped that Crystal might just get her Buff Lords in her bed! But no. Cameron decided to throw another freaking spanner in the works, and now we gotta wait!

How long, though?? That is the big question. There is a bit about that at the end of this book. Apparently, if I threaten to camp outside the author's door, she might write the nexxt book a bit quicker! So, that's what I'm-a gonna do!!

Cos I need, NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED book three, yesterday!!

5 full and shiny stars, more if I could!!

Write quicker, Ms Cameron, write QUICKER!!


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Nicola Cameron likes writing romance, especially when it's mixed with SF, fantasy, or the paranormal. When not writing about those things, she likes to make Stuff™. And she may be rather fond of absinthe.

While possessing a healthy interest in love and related activities since puberty, it wasn’t until 2012 that she actually tried writing a romance novel. She hasn't looked back since, and her To Be Written work queue currently stands at around nineteen books (Nicola's mojito-sodden Muse swans in from Bali every so often to add to the list, cackling to herself all the while).

Nicola plans to continue writing until she drops dead over her keyboard or makes enough money to buy a private island and hire Rory McCann as her personal trainer/masseur, whichever comes first. Visit Nicola's website and sign up for her newsletter at http://www.nicolacameron.com -- new subscribers get their choice of a free book from Nicola's backlist.

13 views
bottom of page