top of page

Lodrick & Godefroy (Ambrosia #1) by Lucie Fleury



#LucieFleury @debbiereadsbooks


@lucie.fleury0 @debbiereadsbook


#LucieFleury @debbiereadsbook



Lodrick had the perfect life: a good and loving family and a promising future as a Royal guard. But hatred and jealousy ruined everything. He was forced to drink ambrosia, the highly addictive substance produced by god’s bodies. Now to survive he only has one choice: to become a god’s lover.


Godefroy, the god of Peace and Harmony, has longed for a companion for a long time. He’s ready to love and care. Yet, as good willing as he is, he has trouble understanding humans and Lodrick is a real mystery. Why does he refuse his soothing?


This books contains: lots of sex (in order to survive!), forced proximity, power imbalance, huge age-gap (a few centuries). HEA.


Trigger warning: dub-con/non-con, addiction.



Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb | BookBub

Available in #KindleUnlimited

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


This is the first book in the Ambrosia series, but I am reading this AFTER I already read book 2, Rowan & Aldred. I would say, because of that, they can both be read as stand alone reads, but are best enjoyed when read in order.


I loved, like LOVED book two. It was so dark and deadly and it pushed ALL my buttons. This one is not so dark, but it still pushed my buttons, just in a different way, and I loved it too!


Lodrick, as a human, is given Ambrosia, and gets addicted. It only takes one sip, after all. Lodrick is rescued from the throes of addiction by Godefroy, the God of Peace and Harmony. He has long since given up on finding a companion, will Lodrick accept him? 


What I loved about this, was how very DIFFERENT Godefroy and Aldred are, in all ways. Aldred had no desire to soothe Rowan, (at least, not at first) but Godefroy is all about soothing Lodrick, and keeping him happy. 


Lodrick, however, thinks Godefroy is too much: too sweet, too kind, and too suffocating and at the worst time, he pushes Godefroy away. Neither of them knew that Godefroy would suffer as well as Lodrick. 


The book comes with couple of trigger warnings. 


Addiction: Lodrick becomes addicted to Ambrosia, and there is no getting over it. He can only exist as a nymph, as Godefroy's nymph, getting his fix from Godefroy and the smexy times. Lodrick knows this, but he hates it, at first. 


Dub/non Con: While Lodrick is away with Godefroy at another Goddess's party, and finds himself in the middle of a rather large smexy pile. Now, at points, he does say he wants it, he needs it. But, at others, he realises the situation he finds himself in. It was difficult reading, once Lodrick realises, and I wasn't sure he was going to get out of it. 


So, some darker lines, but nothing as dark as book 2 and I loved that it wasn't! It's an altogether lighter read than book 2, but not a fluffy read, at all. 


And I loved it!! I think had I read this BEFORE book 2, I might not have loved it quite so much but the marked differences between Godefroy and Aldred, and also between Lodrick and Rowan make this book. 


5 full and shiny stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book; the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Hi, I'm Lucie!


Currently living in a world of fiction and m/m romance.


Also French! Might explain a lot about me (I don't know, you'll have to tell me).


I love writing (obviously), reading, knitting and photography :)




Amazon | BookBub | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | LinkedIn | Pinterest | Smashwords | TikTok | Tumblr | Twitter | Website | YouTube

3 views

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page