top of page

Magic Always Sings (Magic Series #2) by Erin M. Leaf


@EdgyAuthorErin @debbiereadsbooks


@erin.m.leaf @debbiereadsbook


#ErinMLeaf @debbiereadsbook

Rowan Clementine, rock star and closet bisexual, is stuck in a songwriting rut. He needs a new hit so his label doesn’t sue, but he can’t make a melody to save his life. He hasn’t been able to write in years, actually. So, when his producer slaps some hot young songwriter’s work down in front of him, what’s a guy to do? Give in gracefully? Not a chance.


Jesse Rhodes is a closet songwriter, even though he’s out and proud about everywhere else in his life. So, what happens when his bff sends off his music to a producer who wants his songs for Rowan Clementine, rock star extraordinaire? Cue a freakout! Because Jesse used to know Rowan once upon a time when they were both boys, but he’s sure the singer has forgotten him. Or has he? There’s only one way to find out…

Add to Goodreads | Smashbomb | BookBub

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


I wrote in a review for the first book I read of this author: First I've read of this author, I'd like to read a longer book, with more to get my teeth into. And this book delivers, big time!


This is the second book in the Magic Sings series, and I have not read book one, Magic Never Lies. I didn't feel I was missing anything, and I will go back, at some point, and read that book. Not because I need to, but because I want to.


Rowan is a rock star who cannot write songs, hasn't for some time. He NEEDS to, or he will be in trouble. Having someone else's songs shoved at him, and his magic goes haywire. Rowan loves these songs. Meeting Jesse sends him into a tailspin: he knows Jesse but can't recall from when. Once the penny drops, Rowan goes all out to settle his magic. But Rowan isn't out, and doesn't want to come out, not yet. Can they make this work?


What this is, right, is a wonderful tale of being true to yourself. Jesse has loved Rowan for a long time, and he will take him anyway he can get him, but Jesse knows Rowan is not being true to himself, regardless of what he said all those years ago. It's quite difficult reading, when Rowan tells Jesse why he won't come out, but the magic inside Rowan will not be denied.


I loved the magic thing, I really did. It just is, you know? You don't need a long winded explanation about it. Some people have it, and some don't, and I loved what the magic did to them both. Makes them kinda face their feelings, really!


I didn't think it overly explicit, but I liked that here, for these two. It's more about admitting your feelings, and letting them all out. Fairly low on the angst scale too.


A thoroughly enjoyable longer book by this author, and my to-read list is somewhat longer now too!


4 very VERY good stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book; the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Erin M. Leaf is a romance novel devotee, the steamier the better, with a specialty in edgy erotic tension.


Amazon | BookBub | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | LinkedIn | Pinterest | Smashwords | Tumblr | Twitter | Website | YouTube

11 views
bottom of page