top of page

Marvin (Assassin's To Order #1) by J.P. Sayle & Lisa Oliver


@debbiereadsbooks, @JPSayle69, @lisaoliverauthor,


@debbiereadsbook, @jpsayle_author,


@debbiereadsbook, @JPSayle69, @wisecrone333,

Ajani is a shifter without a conscience. Stolen as a child, hidden from the world, trained to kill without remorse. It’s all he knows. He works without question until someone targets the only bright light from Ajani’s dark past—Marvin.


Ajani had always known there was something tugging at his soul, or that special someone, but he doesn’t want to bring Marvin into his dark world. But then when had Ajani ever got what he wanted? The Fates chose Marvin for Ajani, and he’ll need all the skills he’s learned to keep his mate safe.


Marvin, previously known as AX4395, is finally happy in his life with the Thalassa's and all the gorgeous children, but he will never forget the lost boys—those youngsters he used to visit regularly, the boys who grew up in cages. The scientists’ experiments he’d endured during his own time in captivity turned him into a hairy outcast and a legend—Bigfoot. Thanks to his skills, Marvin escapes the fate befallen so many, but he still remembers every boy, and the others he’d met along the way. When fate brings him face to face once more with the one special boy, he remembers above all others, Marvin knows his life will change forever.


But finding his fated mate exposes Marvin to a fearful foe—one who knows Marvin and Ajani, and all the other lost boys. Now it’s up to Marvin and Ajani to pool their skills and work together to prevent the unthinkable. Because if something were to happen to Marvin, then who would remember the lost boys and save Ajani’s soul?

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


This s a spin series, from the Tangled Tentacles series. While not necessary to have read all 5 books, you should at least read book 5, Kelvin. But then again, I said in my review for THAT book, you need to read them all first, so read them all, then!

We met Marvin in Kelvin's book. He surprised everyone, even me. I loved his sweet nature then, his fierce protectiveness of all the Thalassa babies and of those boys who are still missing. It's one of those boys, Ajani, who especially calls to Marvin. Given as Ajani is his soul mate, hardly surprising, but what did surprise me was how little Ajani thought of himself, how he thinks that Marvin does not deserve someone like him.

The lost boys have been trained as assassins. And that's all they know. Revealing themselves, as they are being called to do, opens a whole can of worms no one saw coming, least of all Marvin but he rallies and manages to keep Ajani and the others safe for a time. What that does do, though, is put a target on Marvin's head. Finding out WHO becomes everyone's sole focus.


I loved that all the Thalassa Kraken are here, along with their mates and the babies!


I did NOT see the twist as to what Marvin's DNA might contain, til that was thrown at me!

Marvin and Ajani's tale is a tad sweeter than the Thalassa books, but mostly cos of Marvin. Changing it to a smexier book would lose a little of the sweetness Marvin brings to this world and I'd hate that. It is a little darker too if that makes any sense. These boys are trained assassins and they make no bones about it. It's talked about, what they do and you need to know that.


The epilogue leads very nicely into book 2, as all these books do.


HOWEVER!


Something was missing for me, and Sayle has a knack for seriously pushing my book brain with questions, questions, SO MANY FREAKING QUESTIONS! I can't voice those questions either and it equally pisses me off and strives me to dig deeper in my book brain to get them out! I said, in a review of another of Sayle's books "If I cannot voice the questions, how can the author answer them??"

And that's exactly what we have here. Something was missing and I gotta dig DEEP to figure out what.

Still, a very engaging read, that kept me fully engrossed for the whole single sitting I read it in.


4 stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Where does one start with about what I do?


I’m a writer, but I’m sure you guessed that by now if you’re reading this, hey? What you might not know is I’m a little quirky, live in my pj’s most of the time and have cake Saturdays with my sisters every week. I dedicate a little of my time to taking care of my grandbabies and on the dedicated writing days I like to write an eclectic mix of romance, suspense and paranormal fantasy. In the main I’ve written gay romance but I’m branching out under another the pen name in the future, so watch this space.


I’ve a passion for books like you would not believe and it led me down this path and now I’ve over 29 books released and heading towards releasing a whole lot more. The way my head is I never know where I’ll be headed next. I hope you’ll find a little joy in my words and follow me to see where the journey takes me and you.


If you’re interested at some point in 2021 I’ll be writing under the name JP Paton which will be F/M crime and Fantasy two of my favourite things. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled. 🙂

 

Lisa Oliver had been writing non-fiction books for years when visions of half dressed, buff men started invading her dreams. Unable to resist the lure of her stories, Lisa decided to switch to fiction books, and now stories about her men clamor to get out from under her fingertips.


When Lisa is not writing, she is usually reading with a cup of tea always at hand. Her grown children and grandchildren sometimes try and pry her away from the computer and have found that the best way to do it, is to promise her chocolate. Lisa will do anything for chocolate.


Lisa loves to hear from her readers and other writers. You can friend her on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/lisaoliverauthor), or email her directly at yoursintuitively@gmail.com. If you want to chat with her on Skype, then email for contact details.


19 views
bottom of page