top of page

Running From Darkness (Dark River Stone Collective #3) by JP Sayle


@debbiereadsbooks, @JPSayle69,


@debbiereadsbook, @jpsayle_author,


@debbiereadsbook, @JPSayle69,

Conall is on the run. Kyle wants someone who will want him for who he is. Can they find what they need in each other, or will it all blow up in their faces?


An unthinkable situation leads Conall to violence. On the run with his injured sister, he makes a snap decision to seek the favor that the Dark Angels’ president, Killer, owes the Chosen Few. When Conall’s brothers turn their back on him, he has everything to lose if Killer refuses to help. When Kyle, a member of the Dark Angels, gives him a place to stay, Conall realizes the most valuable thing he could lose isn’t his freedom but his heart.


Kyle is in a dating funk. Then late one night, while caring for Killer’s daughter, River, a late-night visitor throws him a curveball. As everything unravels, Kyle offers Conall sanctuary in his home. But will Conall’s past make it impossible for there to be more between them? Kyle’s putting everything on the line, but is Conall?


Running from Darkness, the third book in Dark River Stone Collective, is an MC gay romance with angst, hurt-comfort, and newfound family.


Trigger Warnings: Violent. Scene of rape (not main characters but secondary) and discussion around topic.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


This is book 3 in the Dark River Stone Collective series. While not strictly necessary, I would recommend you read at least book one, The Light Beneath The Dark. It will give you a better picture of Linc and Mason, as it's their story and they play a large part here. Some references are made to that book, so it might help. BUT book 2, When Darkness Turns To Light, was a far more gripping read. So, you know, just read 'em both!

Conall and Kyle are perfect for each other, right from the start. I loved that Kyle knew he wanted Conall, but he wanted to HELP Conall and his sister Calli first and foremost. That he wanted in Conall's bed was secondary to making sure Calli was safe.

Because Conall finds her being attacked by their step-father and reacts with violence. Which I totally get and fully approve of, given as Calli is 14. Running to the Dark Angels was the quickest way to get her safe.

I loved that Mason is very . . loose . . with his words, and helps Conall keep Calli safe. Calli will be a force of nature, once she has some time to come to terms with what's happened, she really will. She shows great courage here, and I loved that River kinda attached herself to Calli.

This book doesn't quite bite the way book 2 does, but it bites in a very different way. I still enjoyed it as much as book 1 though, and it is a welcome addition to this series.


Who is next?? I dunno, I don't really care, but I will be reading it!


4 good solid stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Where does one start with about what I do?


I’m a writer, but I’m sure you guessed that by now if you’re reading this, hey? What you might not know is I’m a little quirky, live in my pj’s most of the time and have cake Saturdays with my sisters every week. I dedicate a little of my time to taking care of my grandbabies and on the dedicated writing days I like to write an eclectic mix of romance, suspense and paranormal fantasy. In the main I’ve written gay romance but I’m branching out under another the pen name in the future, so watch this space.


I’ve a passion for books like you would not believe and it led me down this path and now I’ve over 29 books released and heading towards releasing a whole lot more. The way my head is I never know where I’ll be headed next. I hope you’ll find a little joy in my words and follow me to see where the journey takes me and you.


If you’re interested at some point in 2021 I’ll be writing under the name JP Paton which will be F/M crime and Fantasy two of my favourite things. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled. 🙂

6 views
bottom of page