top of page

Seducing the Sorcerer by Lee Welch

SEDUCING THE SORCERER – a new fantasy m/m romance by the author of SALT MAGIC, SKIN MAGIC and MENDED WITH GOLD.


Book Details:

Release date: 23 September 2021

Length: 100,000 words

Genre: fantasy m/m romance

Ebook available for preorder now from: Amazon, kobo, Barnes & Noble, Nook and other good bookshops

@Archaeolibrary, @debbiereadsbook, @leewelchwriter,

Homeless and jobless, Fenn Todd has nearly run out of hope. All he has left is his longing for horses and the strength of his own two hands. But when he’s cheated into accepting a very ugly sackcloth horse, he’s catapulted into a world of magic, politics and desire.


Fenn’s invited to stay at the black tower, home of the most terrifying man in the realm: Morgrim, the court sorcerer. Morgrim has a reputation as a scheming villain, but he seems surprisingly charming—and sexy—and Fenn falls hard for him.


However, nothing is as it seems and everyone at the tower is lying about something. Beset by evil hexes, violent political intrigue and a horse that eats eiderdowns, Fenn must make the hardest choices of his life.


Can a plain man like Fenn ever find true love with a scheming sorcerer?


Content warnings: graphic sex scenes including consensual rough sex/spanking/humiliation; kidnapping (named character is tied up and gagged); gun violence (gun is held to a named character’s head); death by crushing (non-named character); mention of suicide.


***

Author’s note: Seducing the Sorcerer is written from the point of view of a hero whose grammar isn’t perfect. These are not errors in the text but deliberate style choices. Thank you!


“Seducing the Sorcerer is a book that wears its heart on its sleeve, and I loved every minute of it. Beyond being a beautifully written romance, this is a story about kindness, compassion, and what we owe one another as human beings, that will stay with you long after the last page. Outstanding.” - Jordan L. Hawk, author of the Whyborne& Griffin series.


“If you're looking for fainting pretty boys, this book is not for you. Fenn and Morgrim are grown men: worn, world weary, stronger than they know, and scared to reach for what they want—for a while. The world is tangible, often beautiful, the story complex and engrossing, by turns dark, gritty, humorous, tragic, and rough. It's the kind of story that stays with you after you've devoured the final page.” -Lynn Flewelling, author of the Nightrunner Series and the Tamír Triad.


“Seducing the Sorcerer is tender, sharp, and funny all at once. I was immediately drawn into the magical world that Lee Welch deftly creates and happily stayed up well into the night reading.” – Cat Sebastian, author of The Queer Principles of Kit Webb and the Seducing the Sedgwicks series.


“Seducing the Sorcerer is a classic ‘grumpy one falls for…extremely grumpy one’ romance, featuring two middle-aged cynics who might just be each other’s sunshine. Throw in some magical mysteries, a gothic tower, and a healthy dose of skullduggery. Add libraries, kittens and magical horses. It all adds up to a bracing hug of a book that’s full of heart.” – Dr Sam Hirst, Romancing the Gothic.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


Jumping straight in with this one, cos I really REALLY enjoyed this book bar one teeny weeny thing, but I'll come back to that! This is the second book by this author I read, and that book was a 3 star, it-was-ok kinda read and this one is so NOT that!

I loved that many times in the book I had to back up a bit, and reread what I just read cos I was like "say what, now?" MANY times. And a book that makes me slow down my reading is never a bad thing, I had to here, cos I kept missing bits that were just thrown in, and I really loved that.

I loved that Fenn had no idea about magic and the sorcerer and what was going on in the tower. Loved that Fenn was quite laid back about it all, really.

I loved the way things crept up on Fenn, much like his worple horse and what it can do, (not sure if that's the correct spelling though!) and that so much was not as it appeared to be. I loved what the horse does with the pink eiderdown

It's not especially explicit but is steamy enough. Violence level is low but fitting for this book. I was surprised at the level of emotions that Fenn threw at me though, and I've no idea why!

What let it down, for ME was only Fenn has a say, and I so wanted to hear from Morgrim, I really did! I wanted to know what he was thinking when Fenn first landed in the tower grounds; what he felt about Fenn and his horse.

But what I wanted MOST to know about, was how Morgrim felt about what had happened to him 2 years ago, and how he was dealing with all that. I'm greedy, I know, but had Morgrim been given a voice, I have no doubt at all that this would have been a five-star review, it really would!

I can see the author skill has grown a great deal since I read the other book (2017) and I WILL read more now!

4 really REALLY good stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Lee Welch lives on top of a hill in the windiest city in the world, Wellington, New Zealand. She shares the house with her partner, two kids, two cats, a dog and quite a lot of spiders.Lee studied ancient history at Auckland University and creative writing at Birkbeck, University of London. By day, she works as an editor and business communications adviser for a large government department. By night, she writes escapist romances, usually with magic in them.


10 views
bottom of page