top of page

Smith's Corner: Alora & Ash (The Heartwood Series #3) by Jayne Paton


@Archaeolibrary, @debbiereadsbook, @JPSayle69,

Love…it comes with no assurances as life has taught me. Can past hurts be overcome to give me a second chance at finding happiness?


Loneliness has me returning to the place where I grew up and where I left a big part of my heart behind. My return isn’t the only hot gossip in town when it seems fate is out to mess with me once again. Ash Smith, the man who was once my whole world is now out of prison, and the secret I’ve held close is harder to hide.


A smile that eclipses the sun and melts me faster than the asphalt on a hot summer Texas day, is pointing in my direction, only this time I’m older and wiser. Yeah, like that’s the truth. The second Ash aims those sexier than sin, caramel eyes at me, love is back on the agenda. Only can I give my trust to a man who once crushed my heart with his rejection, when it’s not only my heart on the line this time?


It seems I’m about to find out.

 

Smith’s Corner: Ash & Alora (book 3) is a second-chance romantic-drama. It comes with a hot as fuck barman who’ll do just about anything to please his daughter, and win back his one true love, no matter how ridiculous it makes him look.

3 out of 5 (good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


This is book 3 in the Heartwood series and while not totally necessary, it might help you get a better picture of this family group, and all the supporting characters.


Ash went to prison, and he shut Alora off completely just when she needed him the most. You get a picture as to WHY he does that, though. When their paths cross again, Alora runs away from Ash. It's not long til Ash discovers the secret Alora has been keeping from him, though.

Ash has to learn the hard way about letting people help him. Had he done so before, he might not have such a hard time now. But one thing holds true from then to now: he LOVES Alora, so darn much!

You understand why Alora is reluctant to let Ash in, he hurt her before, but when she does let him in, its wonderful!

There is some overlap with book 2, Layla and Levi and it's kinda fun watching those two from the other side, so to speak!

This is a great addition to the series but it doesn't quite push my buttons like Dallas and Delilah or Levi and Layla do, I'm afraid. Oh it's good, yes, but I didn't quite love it.

Fox and Faith are next. Given that Fox hasn't SAID a word in three books, that should be an interesting read!


3 good solid stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

I'm Jayne or JP, I live in the Isle of Man. A tiny place in the Irish sea where all the magic happens. I am fortunate now to write full time and I've a love for books, all kinds. I like to spice things up and dip my toe into different genres. This is my first book in M/F romance in Smith's Corner.


If you are interested in keeping up to date then sign up to my newsletter, or come and join me in Smith's Corner on Facebook. If you'd like to leave a review, I'd love to hear your feedback.

8 views
bottom of page