top of page

Sticky For You (The Rhubarb Effect #1) by JP Sayle & Sue Brown



@JPSayle69, @debbiereadsbooks



@jpsayle_author, @debbiereadsbook



@JPSayle69, @debbiereadsbook


A persistent omega, a reluctant alpha, and an unforgettable wooing. Has fate made a mistake, or can two opposite mates get their act together before the ‘wilt’?


Moving into Valentine Growville seems like the answer to Maximus, an alpha lion of his weird pride, despite there being a strange obsession with rhubarb. A knock on his front door changes Maximus’ life when he meets his fated mate, Tim. Nothing about the situation is what Maximus expects, and he is reluctant to take the next step. A lion and a rhubarb, could things get any wackier?


Tim is persistent and is determined to get his alpha. The problem is, he has an unusual way of showing his desire. As he drives the pride and the town crazy in the process, Tim woos his lion.


However, it appears the new pride have brought danger to the town. Will this throw a rhubarb into the works?


Sticky For You — book one of seven The Rhubarb Effect, where you'll forever imagine a serenading gay rhubarb.



4 out of 5 (very good)

 

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!


Did you ever read a book, and think "What the ever loving heck did I just read??" (only, you know, more sweary words than some review sites will allow!) Well, this is such a book!


Max moves to Valentine Growville with his odd little pride and immediately feels at home. Meeting Tim, his mate, knocked him for six. I mean, Max is an Alpha lion and Tim is... well ...Tim is rhubarb. A rhubarb omega. Can they make this work?


It's so much fun, it really is and I laughed a lot, A LOT reading this book and I rarely react out loud when reading, (listening is a whole 'nother matter, though!) 


Max is an Alpha of a pride of lions, bulls, llamas and other things that I forget already but they all have a love of rhubarb. Moving to Growville was a necessity since they got hounded out their last pride. Tim is.. . . excitable! He really is a bit of a live-wire and he likes to sing. Especially once he realises he is Max's mate and Max can hear him in his head. Singing becomes the easiest way to woo Max and I have to admit, I found myself singing along with those songs that Tim sang, but changed some words for to make it fit better for him and Max.


It's steamy . . but in a kinda weird way. The way rhubarb mate is a little off-putting, I will admit, but now I know what to expect, I'll be better prepared.

It is a lot of fun, it really is, right up to the point where things go wrong for Tim, but if he had just talked to Max, it could all have been avoided.


And also the point where the real monsters come to town. But that was not explained, and you have to piece the clues already thrown at you to figure out who they are. I'm fairly certain, but with Sayle at the helm, one can never be too sure!


I loved the references to fingerlings!


I love Sayle, you know I do, and I've read some Brown before, with 4 and 5-star reads from her on my shelves. How they came up with this idea, I have no clue, but it really was a fun read! The setting is set nicely for book two, and I see now why the whole of Max's pride loves rhubarb!


Will it win any literary awards? Nope, but I don't care cos I thoroughly enjoyed it!


4 very funny stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

 

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book; the comments here are my honest opinion. *

I’m Jayne or JP, and my pen names are, J Paton (Crime), JP Sayle (MM paranormal, romance) and Jayne Paton (M/F romance). I live in the Isle of Man which is a tiny place in the Irish sea where all the magic happens. I’m a confessed bookaholic and if I’m not writing I love to snuggle with a book or two…if you catch my drift.


I’ve a wondering heart, a love of the sea and travelling to different places. Some of the places I’ve been, can be found in my world of books all you need to do is open the pages. 


Amazon | BookBub | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | LinkedIn | Pinterest | Smashwords | TikTok | Tumblr | Twitter | Website | YouTube


 



Sue Brown is a Londoner with a dream to live on a small island. Coffee fuels her addiction for writing romance with hot guys loving each other, and her Adorkadog snores in harmony as she creates.


Follow Sue on BookBub to receive notifications for sales and new releases.


Join her newsletter at https://suebrownstories.com/ to follow Sue's news, plans and stories.


Her plans for 2022 include writing a new series and visiting her favourite island more times than she can strictly afford.

3 views

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page