top of page

TOUR, REVIEW & #GIVEAWAY - Take The Shot (Philadelphia Bulldogs, #1) by Danica Flynn


Book details:

Take The Shot

by Danica Flynn

(Philadelphia Bulldogs, #1)

Publication date: June 9th 2020

@XpressoTours, @Archaeolibrary, @debbiereadsbook, @DanicaFlynn10

#Adult, #Romance#Sports

DINAH When my husband died, I never thought I would find love again.  I definitely didn’t think I would find it in the arms of my younger best friend. Why would the hunky hockey player want anything to do with me? I’m a stressed out writer with a lot of baggage. Any other man would say, “HARD PASS!” But Noah was the best man I’ve ever known, and if it wasn’t for him, I might not be alive. But am I ready to put my heart on the line again?

NOAH I’ve pined for my best friend for so long, that my teammates issued an ultimatum.  “Make your move now or one of us will ask her out.” They are just trying to push me, besides none of those jerks would ever be good enough for her. Makes me wonder if I even stand a chance. Besides, what would a smart woman like her want with a dumb jock like me?

Get ready to meet The Philadelphia Bulldogs hockey team, in this steamy and hot standalone novel. If you love sexy sports romances and friends-to-lovers with an HEA, this book is for you! CW: This book deals with miscarriage & infertility. 


Universal Purchase Link - Click HERE

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Sometimes, you just need a book that you just fall into, losing all around you, and reading about 2 people falling in love. And this is such a book.

Dinah lost her husband 2 years ago. Moving on seemed like a good idea, and a bad one, all at the same time. Her neighbour provides some eye candy, but he is so much younger than she is and she doesn't think he would want anything other than friendship.  Noah lives in the next door apartment. Noah has lusted over Dinah for ages, but she was married, then widowed. He wasn't gonna make a move til she was ready. If she never did, he would be heartbroken, but he would rather have Dinah as a friend, than not at all.

This is a delightful read! I'm not the greatest fan of first person books, I make no secret of that, but I really rather loved this one!  

Noah, bless him, 22 years old, lusts after Dinah, has done since he met her. But he kept it to himself, she was married. And after he died, he found himself helping her in more ways than he ever expected. But he waited, he WAS waiting for Dinah. Waiting for her to let him know she was ready to move on. He would wait, however long it took. Til his housemates gave him an ultimatum: Ask her out, or one of them would. They could see what Noah could not, that Dinah was lusting after Noah as much as Noah lusted after her. They just had to act on it.

And it is wonderful when they do! Yes, the attraction is powerful and hot, but there is much emotion here, not just steamy sex. There is much between these two, BEFORE they get to the bedroom, which would be spoilers to explain. And I really found those bits far better than the sexy bits, but thats not to say the sexy bits aren't good :-p

There is a supporting cast who have their own problems, and I hope they all get their story in this series.

The hockey bits, I will admit, I tended to flip over, but then something happened in one and I had to go back, so, yeah, I actually read the hockey bits after that!

There are a couple of lines that are repeated, more times than was really necessary. BUT! I've seen that this is the author's first book, so I'm not really complaining, I'm just saying!

A thoroughly enjoyable read, so for a first time author? Well done, Ms Flynn, very well done.

4 good solid stars

** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Click HERE to follow the tour - links updated daily.

Danica Flynn started writing at an early age, and thinks Meg Cabot's Princess Diaries series is why she loves both writing and romance books. She is a rabid hockey fan of both The Philadelphia Flyers and the Metropolitan Riveters. When not writing, she can be found hanging with her partner, playing video games, and reading a ton of books. Author links: https://danicaflynn.com/ https://twitter.com/DanicaFlynn10 https://www.instagram.com/danicaflynnauthor/ https://www.facebook.com/DanicaFlynnAuthor/ https://www.amazon.com/Danica-Flynn/e/B081DLYH2K/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1 https://www.bookbub.com/profile/danica-flynn

Tour Organised by: Xpresso Book Tours


17 views
bottom of page