top of page

The Light Beneath the Dark (Dark River Stone Collective #1) by J.P. Sayle


Universal Purchase Link

@Archaeolibrary, @debbiereadsbook, @JPSayle69

Lincoln Stone is President of the Dark Angels motorcycle club, and he’s been accused of a crime he didn’t commit.


Will this finally be his downfall?


Lincoln lives a life that straddles the fine line between right and wrong. Now he stands accused of a crime that could see him losing everything he holds close and breaking a promise to the one person who loved him unconditionally, his sister.


That is, until Mason.


Mason Davenport believes in the law and what it stands for. When his father asks him to take on Lincoln’s case, he learns some things are not as clear cut as they seem. Can he see beneath the exterior Lincoln hides behind to help him battle for his freedom and keep what he treasures most? Or will those who are conspiring against Lincoln win?


The Light Beneath the Dark is a standalone MM gay romance, with a sassy little girl that can offer one man freedom and another what he never realised he wanted, a daughter.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

This is the first in a new series by Ms Sayle, and I must admit, I rather enjoyed it!

The biker gang element is secondary to the main story, but given that Lincoln is trying to clean up the image of the Dark Angels, its still there, you know? The MC activities that are usually in-yer-face are NOT here.

Lincoln is accused of a crime he didn't commit, and the lawyer sent was not who he was expecting. Mason is the son of the lawyer who helped him keep custody of his niece. Mason also pushes many of Lincoln's buttons but while there is this crime over his head, there can't be anything between them.

I loved that, right from the start, it wasn't a matter of if they would get together, but more a matter of WHEN it happened. LOVED little River getting in there and making sure both Mason and Lincoln know that she wants them to be together, and so they should be. Loved River, I really did.

Once they DO get their act together, these boys are all in and are HAWT off the page!

I loved that Lincoln wasn't telling the full story about what was *supposed* to have happened that night, but when you find out why, it makes total sense for him to omit to tell the full truth. I loved how that all sorted itself out.

I liked the subplot of what was going on in the club, and how THAT all sorted itself out!

Some interesting characters here, and it will be fun to read future books, and see who pops up where.

4 good, solid stars


** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *


Let me introduce myself, my name is Jayne, I’m a lady of a certain age (50, bites fingernails). I am an identical twin, the younger one of course by 7 minutes. I am married to a wonderfully complicated man, and we’ve celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary (yeah that’s a lot of years I could have been out for good behaviour now ). I have one daughter and two grandbabies one boy and one girl.


I was born in the Isle of Man; this makes me Manx (not British or English). I moved to the UK for several years, and as a child, I lived in Italy for a while. But, the island calls to me so I returned home in 1998. I love the sea and now it’s only a stone’s throw from my home.


I (unfortunately) still work in the caring profession and have done for 34 years and have been a hospital nurse manager, out of hours, for the past three years. I made the decision to work part-time nights in 2016 so that I could pursue my lifelong dream of becoming a writer.


I have always believed that I could and would write a book, but life just seemed to get in the way. Until someone asked me the question, “What do I want?” The answer was easy, the hard part was making it happen. Well, it did and it has and it was a life-changing experience for me.


I released my first book in Feb 2018 and have subsequently released a few more since. I’ve found true happiness in doing something that just brightens my day. Now I won’t say it’s been a breeze because those who write know it’s not a total blast all the time, but it has been fun and exciting.


My island is steeped in folklore and I have used some of this in my writing, particularly the Manx Cat Guardian series I’ve written, it's paranormal with a twist, (book seven was released last month and the box set is now out too). I’ve also branched out into a little Daddy Kink, with some other tropes thrown in, with the La Trattoria Di Amore Series. I appear to mainly write in series because I have a few others coming in 2019/20: The Playroom, The App, Potters Creek and the Flamingo Bar series. Yep as I as series seem to be the way my mind works and if I can find the time I’ll finish the first M/F book in the Broken Veils series, which is the storyline left on a cliff hanger in the Manx Cat Guardian series.


Writing has unleashed a beast in my mind and now I can’t switch it off. So with that, I now have several ideas vying for my attention, and currently, it’s who shouts the loudest.

8 views
bottom of page