top of page

Controlling Circumstances (Circumstances #1) by Jean Kelso


Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to Goodreads

Romance, Suspense

I was always told that when I hit thirty, life would be great, life would be a blast, a party. Boy were they wrong.

My life wasn’t perfect by any means, in reality actually, it was as if I had woken up on the wrong side of the bed, took a wrong turn or something. Everything started to go wrong in my life and I couldn’t change it or go back and fix it.

I had no control of any of the circumstances, good or bad. Everything was a mess, altered. Then he came along. He helped. I quickly found out that the one great thing about turning thirty was him. His ability to take the reins. His control. He was a risk, but risks are worth taking, right? Warning: 18+ for language, violence and mature content.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Belle is still suffering the shocks waves from an attack at college, 8 years later. Its her 30th brithday and her friend drags her out to celebrate. Gabe works the bar and he has been watching Belle for some time, not in a creepy stalker sort of way, but in a I need this woman in my life, sort of way :-) When said attacker is release on early parole, it all goes to hell and back, and Gabe is not only fighting to keep his woman, to for her very life too. This book is dark in places, lighter, funnier in others, it has the whole gammut of emotion, all in a short book, which meant, at times, it flew, far too fast, and others it plodded along just right. Gabe is Belle's first relationship, first proper boyfriend since the first one doesn't count, and its all very new to her. She is also suffering from cancer and the treatment and all that entails. Gabe, once he knows, is there every step of the way. Then there is her attacker, getting in touch and doing all he does to scare her. She has a lot on her plate, and I just thought, at more than one point, "give the girl a damn break!" Its written in the first person, present tense and dual POV. That way is my absolute worse way to be written, and you know this. I can't forgive it here, I really can't. Also, although its written from dual POV, you get far more of Belle than we do of Gabe. A good book, just not a great one. (SORRY!) 3.75 stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Being the youngest of four girls and living in a small town I have learned a lot in life. One of those things is to dream big. My dream was to write. I started with short stories in school and silly poems that my teachers loved. Then came my passion to help people. Upon graduating from high school and slipped into the party scene, had my fun then when to college. I did the whole, met my dream man, married him and have kids. I became a full time nurse and let my writing slide. But when the age of thirty hit, life threw a dirty hand at me. Cancer! While being laid up, my passion of writing came back. In 2014 I self published my first book. Since then, I have been on a roller coaster of stories. I hope to be a favorite author of your's one day. That too is a dream of mine.

I am now in remission from Cancer and living my life. I hope you enjoy my stories as I write them, and I hope you feel comfortable enough to contact me about my books or just to chat at any time.

0 views
bottom of page