top of page

Blood Tide (Dolphin Shore Shifters #1) by C.J. Matthew


Purchase Link - click HERE

Add to Goodreads

Paranormal Romance

The Santa Barbara Channel holds a closely guarded secret… She had more than just her mission… Sy’s rotation on land as a dolphin shifter couldn’t have come at a better time. With her best friend missing and no answers forthcoming, it was time to take matters into her own hands. And with the resources at the Save Blue Water organization, finding her friend would be a whole lot easier. Except …something sinister is going on inside SBW, something deadly, and Sy finds herself at the center of danger. The last thing he needed was bullets and bombs… Noah Nelson spent every minute trying to forget the war while fighting his PTSD, but jumping in front of a bullet was second nature. It had nothing to do with the fact the target was the most beautiful woman he’d ever seen. Or that she was naked. But suddenly he’s caught up in her world, protecting her from unforeseen threats, and falling in love … but Sy’s got a secret that may rip them apart. Forever.

3 out of 5 (good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

Sy is on rotation to the shore for three years. In the first two days, she is shot at, nearly blown up, and is well on the way to breaking every single pod law by falling for a human, Noah. Noah saved Sy at the shooting and the bombing. But he has his own demons, after his last tour of duty. Can Sy find out what's going on at SBW, keeping her and Noah alive, and still locate her missing sister?? OKAY, SO! Different, and different is always good. Not read about dolphin shifters before. But I did struggle in the first half of the book. I couldn't see where it was going, what everyone was, and how they all fit into the story. Sometimes, being left in the dark, and kept guessing is a good thing, but for me, it did not quite work here. I also felt I was missing some information. History, background that sort of information, both for Sy and the shifters, and for Noah. Some of it DID come in the latter part of the book, but I'm still left with the overall feeling of gaps in my knowledge. The second half of the book does moves faster and much more smoothly that the first. Things came together better, and I could see where it was heads. Or rather, I thought I could! I was proven wrong on one point! I loved that Sy knew getting involved with Noah might cost her and, indeed, him, their lives, but she still did it anyway. She followed her heart, regardless. I should like to read the next book. Why? You ask?? Because I need to know about the bigger picture. There is a much bigger picture going on, and I still can't see what that is, which on this particular point, is a VERY good thing! I did like that SOME of the shifter history comes in the second half, but because of the very slow first half and still missing some information... 3.5 stars

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

CJ Matthew grew up in an Air Force family that traveled and lived all over the US and around the world. It proved to be the perfect for gathering ideas and material for future books while developing her imagination.

CJ’s debut paranormal romance series, Dolphin Shore Shifters features dolphins posing as humans, committed to protecting the oceans at any cost through their oceanic conservation corporation, Save Blue Water, based in Santa Barbara, California.

When she isn’t writing or reading romances, CJ enjoys spending time with her two grown children, her brilliant grandson, and her feisty cat Max. Schedule permitting, CJ loves to discover new favorite places as well as new friends in both the US and around the world.

Max flatly refuses to travel.

6 views
bottom of page