top of page

Behind the Iron Cross by Nicola Cameron


Universal Purchase Link - click HERE

@debbiereadsbook, @YesItsNicolaC,

In the hedonistic wonderland of Cabaret-era Berlin… …where money can buy you anything you desire… …and love comes with a pink rose and a practiced smile… The year is 1925, the Great War is over, and Berlin has become the manic playground of Europe’s elite. Against a glittering background of nightclubs and hot jazz, a sensual American heiress, a wounded playboy, and a desperate German army officer forge a decadent pact of pleasure. But their nights of uninhibited passion soon lead to a forbidden emotional connection, one that will threaten their future … and their lives.

5 out of 5 (exceptional)

A sensual heiress, a wounded playboy and the soldier who will serve them both.

Oh I liked this one, I liked it a LOT!!!

Meet Kat, a wealthy business woman trying to help expand her company and repair a very damaged Germany after WWI. Meet Sam, Kat's best friend, fiancee, and her dead brother's lover. And Friedrich, a decommissioned soldier forced to sell his body to keep his widowed sister-in-law and her baby fed.

Like I said, liked it A LOT!

The scene is set with Friedrich going to the club Kat and Sam frequent for the first time. There is am immediate connection between the three, and it burns bright through the whole book. I didn't find it as explicit as some BDSM or menage books, but that might be just me. It IS sexy, oh yes, don't think that it isn't, and what is here is very well written. Maybe it's because a lot of words used were from that time, and not today's words for things. I didn't mind that I didn't find it as explicit, I just needed to mention it!

I LOVED how it all worked though! Kat is a Dom; Sam, a confirmed homosexual (but he can be with women, should he and Kat actually get married and need to produce an heir!) and Friedrich is the glue that binds all three of them together. Kat shows him all kinds of things that he didn't even know existed and Sam shows him just how good it is to be with a man.

I liked the business espionage line, wasn't sure how that was gonna go and I do so love being kept on my toes!

And I absolutely LOVED the solution that Sam comes up with to get Friedrich, Elise and Rudi out of Germany; to give Kat a husband; to give Sam a wife AND heir and for the three of them to be together back in the States. I was reading when Sam was talking and I'm thinking "What the bloody hell is he going on about?" And then, ping! Light bulb moment just a fraction of a sentence before Sam laid it out! Loved it!

First I've read of this author, unless there is something tucked away in a box set I might have read. I'd like to read more!

You know what?? I wrote 4.5 stars at the top pf the page when I sat down to write this up, but now? I can't think why I did that, or what to take the half star off for, so . . . .

5 full stars!

**same worded review will appear elsewhere**

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

Nicola Cameron is a married woman of a certain age who really likes writing about sex. When not writing about sex, she likes to knit. And she may be rather fond of absinthe. Well, it’s true!

Okay, okay, the full version: Nicola Cameron has had a healthy interest in sex since puberty, but it wasn’t until 2012 that she decided to write about it. Turns out that the skills picked up during her SF writing career transfer rather nicely to erotic romance and erotica — who knew?

Speaking of erotica, her fantasy erotic romances Storm Season and Breaker Zone (Books One and Two in the Olympic Cove series), Romance on the Go™ novelettes “A Boon by Moonlight” and “Grading the Curve”, coyote shifter paranormal romance Trickster, and fast-paced SF caper romance Two to Tango are are all available from Evernight Publishing. She is currently working on Behind the Iron Cross, a dark MMF erotic romance set in Weimar Republic-era Berlin, and Deep Water, Book Three in the Olympic Cove series. Her To Be Written work queue currently stands at around nineteen books, and thanks to certain enablers in Baltimore she may have added two more to that list. But hey, who needs sleep?

When not working, she’s usually making Stuff™, kissing her husband, or entertaining her cats.

21 views
bottom of page