top of page

Laws of Attraction (The Manx Cat Guardians #6) by J.P. Sayle


@debbiereadsbook, @JPSayle69,

Nick Riley, on the surface has it all. He’s grown up in a loving family, owns his own home, and has a job he loves. Yet under that façade of a happy life, Nick hides a multitude of secrets and lies. Those same secrets and lies have forced him to build walls to protect himself and kept others away.

Nick’s life is unraveling, and his walls are tumbling when his brother invites him for a visit to the Isle of Man. Nick is left floundering, unsure which way to turn and who to trust when his past decides to come knocking. Things go from bad to worse when Nick finds the fates haven’t finished with him, and his brother’s best friend, Brody Quilliam, comes to stay.

Brody Quilliam needs a break from his life and the weight of responsibility of his job. So when his best friend, Aaden Riley, moves to the Isle of Man and asks him to visit, Brody decides to take him up on the offer. Only things don’t go as planned when he finds Aaden’s younger brother, Nick, visiting at the same time.

Their love-hate relationship is only the beginning of Brody’s concerns. Events he can’t explain make him think he’s stuck in the twilight zone.

Witches, spells, and misconceptions are only the tip of the iceberg as Brody struggles to come to terms with the unbelievable.

Warning: Some of the content of this book is sexually graphic, with the use of explicit language and adult situations involving two males. It is only intended for mature adults.

This is the sixth book in the series and should be read in order to give the reader the back story of the other characters. The main characters in this book do get a HEA, but there is a storyline threading through the main story that is a cliffhanger and relates to a future series.

Universal Purchase Link

He gave a disparaging laugh, knowing exactly why it surprised him. He had neither measured how deep the water was or how fast the currents were before jumping in with both feet. Now he was in over his head, being dragged by the currents he’d found, unable to find his feet as he was hauled along by his feelings.

Had it given him pause? Yes, it fucking had. Especially when he knew he’d failed miserably to convince himself it had everything to do with helping Aaden, Martin, and Greg and nothing to do with Nick. Nick, who was going to have to stay longer because of an injury.

Brody felt the guilt slide greasily around his gut, thinking about Nick and his broken foot. A foot that was delaying the progress of the kitchen, and he was solely to blame. If he hadn’t been trying to get a reaction out of Nick, then he wouldn’t, Brody was sure, have lost his grip on the door and dropped it onto his foot.

His lips quivered slightly at finally getting under Nick’s skin and the mask Nick slipped into place since Sunday night after their little incident in the car.

Kissing, it was kissing, and you can stop fooling yourself.

Brody scrunched up his nose at the annoying voice. Fuck. He’d lost control and given in to his urges. Urges that had been building for days and to his dismay, resulted in a blistering kiss that could have peeled the skin right off his body, it was so hot.

Bloodystinkinghell!

Brody clenched his sweaty hands at his sides, and blindly looking out the window, he stewed. He tried not to think about the imprint of Nick’s soft, lush mouth on his, the sweet taste of him, which had blown his mind.

4 out of 5 (very good)

Independent Reviewer for Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!

This is book 6 in the Manx Cat Guardians series, and you really SHOULD read the other books first. There is MUCH referenced to, but not fully explained, from those books, and you will need to know what’s happened before now. And, you know, I TOLD you to!

Nick has had an attraction to his brother’s best friend, Brody, since he was a child. Now, on the Isle of Man, working on Aaden and Greg’s new kitchen, with Brody in close proximity, Nick can no longer hide his feelings. Brody’s reaction to Nick at Christmas has him questioning everything he ever thought about the squirt. When a certain witchy-poo's involvement in both men’s feelings come to light, and that spell is lifted, Brody is confused about some things, but he knows this: Nick is HIS. They just need to get to the bottom of Brody’s true feelings, what Nick thinks happened all that time ago, and just how deep that witch went with her spell.

So, yes, book 6, but I’ve been awaiting this one since we met Nick and Brody in book 4, Searching For A Soul to Love. Nick is Aaden’s younger brother and Brody his best friend. There were some hints to this book in that one, and a development in 12 Disasters of Christmas and this one does not disappoint!

Well, it DOES, just a tad, and I’m being petty, I know but these books tend to bring out my darkest thoughts, and also the most extreme! I wanted Nick and Brody to get together FAR sooner in this book! They do get together, I just had to wait til nearly the end for the main event! Oh don’t get me wrong, its sexy, and steamy and hawt as hell in places, but for the final joining of their souls and bodies? FAR too long I had to wait! And this is why I can’t stretch to 5 stars!

Everyone has a say, EVERYONE! Brody and Nick, mostly, but some of the other guys get a few minutes too. We also get a lot of that witchy-poo, Christina, and how she spelled Brody and Nick all that time ago, and WHY she did it. And now she’s paying the price for that: but she was warned! She is working off her penance, helping to find out who is trying to sabotage Greg at work and she wants her magic back. She does NOT like feeling human! Some amusing moments, though, for Christina and her body without magic.

King Manannan has a say, and we get how he feels about said witch. Which was totally unexpected! I did not see that coming! There are a lot of HINTS about what Christina is to the King, and about something that her father did to her as a child, but these are not fully explained and I wanted to know! Again, the extremes these books drag out of me! I was like, JUST BLOODY TELL ME!! And Ms Sayle, in true fashion, does not tell me, and so again, I spat me dummy out and threw my toys out the pram and everything, A-BLOODY-GAIN!

And we meet Ellie, and Cam, who are the stars of the next book. And even though THEY didn’t meet each other, I have a feeling their book will be quite explosive. So, write quicker, please!

Because I had to wait so bloody long for the main event, and because my questions about the King and Christina are NOT answered (but I think HERE, everyone will be asking questions about those two!) I can only stretch to..

..a hot and steamy 4 stars

** same worded review will appear elsewhere **

* A copy of this book was provided to me with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book, and the comments here are my honest opinion. *

My name is Jayne and I recently decided that writing was going to be my new career. I have spent most st of my life in the caring profession and I currently work as a nurse manager out of hours, managing a hospital site at night. I have always wanted to write and as I got more disheartened by my role at the time it gave me the impetus to change and live my dream. I am happily married and have been for 25 years. I have a beautiful daughter and currently one grand child. I'm an identical twin, so if you see me check first it's me. I live on a small island in the middle of the Irish Sea and I'm what is known as a amand person. I love reading as much as writing and am an avid yoga fan.

1 view

©2018 BY

ARCHAEOLIBRARIAN - I DIG GOOD BOOKS!

PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM

bottom of page